A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed. Title: HRAF World Cultures
Vendor: Human Relations Area Files
Date coverage: Not available
Print equivalent: Human Relations Area Files
Description: Ethnographic and other documents describing cultural and social life (books, journal articles, and dissertations) that are compiled into culture profiles. Search by subject or culture.
Provides indexing & abstracts for an unrivaled range of music journals from 1874 to the present, covering scholarly & popular. Subject coverage includes music education, performance studies, composition, theory and ethnomusicology to jazz, hip-hop and all forms of popular music.
Indexes thousands of articles, books, and dissertations covering all areas of music including: historical musicology; ethnomusicology; instruments and voice; librarianship; performance practice and notation; theory and analysis; pedagogy; liturgy; dance; criticism and music therapy.
Includes published recordings owned by non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label & archival audio collections of legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon & other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE).