This section includes the top reference databases and books (overviews, bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more) to help you get started with your research.
Prefer to browse in print? Visit the Reference Collection at The Latin American Library (4th floor of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library). Use Library Search to look for specialized reference works in our stacks.
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Carribean, (1998). Revised and updated, the essays offer detailed, regional studies of the different musical cultures of Latin America and examine the ways in which music helps to define the identity of this particular area. Part One provides an in-depth introduction to the area of Latin America and describes the history, geography, demography, and cultural settings of the regions that comprise Latin America. It also explores the many ways to research Latin American music, including archaeology, iconography, mythology, history, ethnography, and practice. Part Two focuses on issues and processes, such as history, politics, geography, and immigration, which are responsible for the similarities and the differences of each region's uniqueness and individuality. Part Three focuses on the different regions, countries, and cultures of Caribbean Latin America, Middle Latin America, and South America with selected regional case studies. The second edition has been expanded to cover Haiti, Panama, several more Amerindian musical cultures, and Afro-Peru. Questions for Critical Thinking at the end of each major section guide focus attention on what musical and cultural issues arise when one studies the music of Latin America -- issues that might not occur in the study of other musics of the world. Two audio compact discs offer musical examples of some of the music of Latin America.
Caribbean Popular Music: An Encyclopedia of Reggae, Mento, Ska, Rock Steady, and Dancehall by
Reggae music is more than just steel drum bands on white sand beaches. Its history is rich with culture and evolution, helping to tell the story of Jamaica's past. Due to its depth and extensive coverage, this book is the most complete and up to date encyclopedia about reggae, mento, ska, rocksteady, and dancehall music on the market today. Ideal for reggae lovers and college students studying music, this encyclopedia is comprehensive for high school students and non-music students as well. From Bob Marley to Wayne Wonder, this easy to use encyclopedia contains over 700 entries. Indices in both the front and back of the book make navigating through entries extremely user-friendly. Entries cover singers and songwriters, producers, record labels, and different styles of music that evolved from reggae. Moskowitz truly captures the history and evolution of Jamaican music in this extensive, illuminating encyclopedia, while all the while making it accessible to both high school and college students.
Reggae and Caribbean Music by
More than a listener's guide this book reveals the rich historical development of a regional music that is now embraced worldwide. Packed with incisive essays ratings and reviews of 2 700 recordings plus fantastic photos and engaging biographies this guide captures the allure of reggae calypso dancehall rock steady soca and other evocative styles of the entire English-speaking Caribbean region past and present. Featured artists include: Bob Marley and the Wailers Jimmy Cliff Peter Tosh Lord Kitchener Arrow Lee Scratch Perry Buju Banton Brother Resistance Prince Buster David Rudder Wailing Souls and many others.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by
This comprehensive survey examines Latin American music, focusing on popular--as opposed to folk or art--music and containing more than 200 entries on the concepts and terminology, ensembles, and instruments that the genre comprises. The rich and soulful character of Latin American culture is expressed most vividly in the sounds and expressions of its musical heritage. While other scholars have attempted to define and interpret this body of work, no other resource has provided such a detailed view of the topic, covering everything from the mambo and unique music instruments to the biographies of famous Latino musicians. Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music delivers scholarly, authoritative, and accessible information on the subject, and is the only single-volume reference in English that is devoted to an encyclopedic study of the popular music in this genre. This comprehensive text--organized alphabetically--contains roughly 200 entries and includes a chronology, discussion of themes in Latin American music, and 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers. The depth and scope of the book's coverage will benefit music courses, as well as studies in Latin American history, multicultural perspectives, and popular culture. Roughly 200 entries on concepts and terminology, ensembles, genres, and instruments 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers A chronology for Latin American popular music
Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes by
This definitive two-volume encyclopedia of Latin music spans 5 centuries and 25 countries, showcasing musicians from Celia Cruz to Plácido Domingo and describing dozens of rhythms and essential themes. Eight years in the making, Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes is the definitive work on the topic, providing an unparalleled resource for students and scholars of music, Latino culture, Hispanic civilization, popular culture, and Latin American countries. Comprising work from nearly 50 contributors from Spain, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the United States, this two-volume work showcases how Latin music--regardless of its specific form or cultural origins--is the passionate expression of a people in constant dialogue with the world. The entries in this expansive encyclopedia range over topics as diverse as musical instruments, record cover art, festivals and celebrations, the institution of slavery, feminism, and patriotism. The music, traditions, and history of more than two dozen countries--such as Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Spain, and Venezuela--are detailed, allowing readers to see past common stereotypes and appreciate the many different forms of this broadly defined art form. Covers nearly every conceivable aspect of Latin music across almost 1,000 pages of insightful, authoritative information Makes clear to readers how diverse and varied "Latin music" is in its integration of influences as unexpected as the Arab world and Russia, and results from European and aboriginal cultures intermingling throughout history Examines why the United States in general continues to be the epicenter of Latin music and how cities such as New York and Los Angeles influence modern Latin music
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by
Volume 3 covers the Caribbean & Latin America.
Enciclopedia de la música ecuatoriana by 
Diccionario del rock latino by 
Diccionario del tango by 
