Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides at Tulane University Tulane University Libraries Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz

A research guide and general overview of Hogan Archive collections and other helpful research resources for the study of the musical culture of New Orleans.

Getting Started

Members of the Young Tuxedo Brass Band at parade

Young Tuxedo Brass Band, Ralston Crawford Collection of Jazz Photography

What are archives?
Archives are non-circulating and non-current records of individuals, groups, institutions, and governments that contain information of enduring value. Archival repositories select, preserve, and make available these records. As defined by the Society of American Archivists, archives "refer to the permanently valuable records — such as letters, reports, accounts, minute books, draft and final manuscripts, and photographs — of people, businesses, and government. These records are kept because they have continuing value to the creating agency and to other potential users. They are the documentary evidence of past events. They are the facts we use to interpret and understand history."

What will I find in Hogan Archive collections?
The Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz is a division of Tulane University Special Collections. Its collections support the research and study of New Orleans music and culture of the late 19th and 20th centuries forward. Archival collections represent the musical cultures of New Orleans including, but are not limited to, jazz, ragtime, rhythm and blues, blues, gospel, Creole songs, and other forms of Black American popular music. Holdings consist of primary source materials such as correspondence, photographs, sound recordings, media, oral histories, business papers, personal papers, memorabilia, ephemera (e.g. buttons, flyers, signs, posters, promotional materials and press kits, sheet music, realia, union records, books, magazines, journals, scrapbooks, research notes, digital files and additional related materials.

About this Research Guide
This guide provides a general overview of collections and other helpful research resources for the study of New Orleans music and culture. For assistance with Hogan Archive collections, please contact the Research Services for Tulane University Special Collections at specialcollections@tulane.edu or 504-865-5685.

To navigate this guide, click on the tabs on the top, left side of the page.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.