Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copy of FINE 4240/ECON 4983/HIST 4941 - History of Economics & Finance (Bernstein/Eric N. Smith): Locating Articles

Off-Campus Access


If you're off-campus, when you click on the resources in this guide, enter your Tulane ID and password to access.  (That's the beginning part of your Tulane email address and the password you use for it.)

Google Scholar


Researching your topic through Google Scholar allows you to utilize features of Google search technology with which you are already familiar to locate scholarly articles and other scholarly research materials.  You will be able to conduct one search versus going to many separate databases—you can link search results to Tulane’s electronic journals—and you can also download citations in a bibliography manager such as RefWorks.  One-stop researching! 

See the guide to searching Google Scholar for further information.

Google Scholar Search

Can't find the full-text of an article or book chapter?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If Tulane doesn't have access to the article you need, you can get it through Interlibrary Loan.


Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan Services are generously provided by the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library.

Information: http://library.tulane.edu/services/borrow_other/ill

ILLiad Login: http://illiad.tulane.edu/illiad/logon.html

First time users must create an account @ http://illiad.tulane.edu/illiad/FirstTime.html

Pickup and return materials to the 1st Floor of the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library at the Circulation Desk during the hours the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library Circulation Desk is open.

Phone:

Interlibrary Loan:
504-865-5610

Howard-Tilton Memorial Library Circulation Desk: (504) 865-5689

Email: ill@tulane.edu

Article Databases


ABI/Inform (Proquest)
Indexes 3,000 academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers. Search by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and/or periodical title.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

America: History & Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

EconLit
Indexes and abstracts economic periodical literature.

Economist - archive
Historical archive 1843-2003

Historical Statistics of the United States
Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000.

History Reference (EBSCO)
The database features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, including award winning titles from many top publishers.

JSTOR
Full text and image, core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Adobe (.pdf) format.

Making of America - Cornell University
Collection contains 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
This database Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
It includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
R. H. Inglis Palgrave's original Dictionary of Political Economy (1894–9),
was a landmark in both publishing and economics, a liberal and scholarly
overview of the whole sphere of economic thought in its day. Henry Higgs's
revised edition, Palgrave's Dictionary of Political Economy ...

New York Daily Times (1851 - 1857) (ProQuest) 
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Times (1857 - 1922) (ProQuest)
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Daily Times (1923 - Current File) (ProQuest)
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Social Sciences Citation Index/Web of Science
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Sciences Citation Index. After conducting a search and selecting an article, see links to Citing Articles, Related Records, and Cited References for similar articles.

Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1990) (ProQuest)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1989) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Electronic Journals

 
How do I search Tulane University E-Journals
?
A researcher will find a reference/citation to a news, magazine, or journal article that fits their research needs either through Google Scholar, a database or listed in a bibliography at the end of another article or book chapter.  The next step is to try to locate the full-text by clicking on the graphic/image below. 

Tulane University Libraries - E-Journals


Tulane University E-Journals allows the researcher to type in the title of the newspaper, magazine, or journal and directs you to a list of databases the library subscribes to which may provide the full-text of the article they need.

TU Links


Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Linkbutton. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

TU Link Tutorial
Short tutorial about how to get full-text with TU Link.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Turchin Library
Contact:
504-865-5376
Website
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.