Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides at Tulane University Tulane University Libraries Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Sports-Related Brain Injury: Library Guide

This guide is designed to help students, faculty, and staff interested in sports-related brain injury.

Why Use a Citation Management Program?

The citation management software programs listed here are great resources as they help you:

  • Manage and organize your references so they are all together in one place.
  • Create a library for future research and consultation.
  • Share your library, which makes group and lab collaboration easier.
  • Access your Library from anywhere, so you don't have to carry your laptop or USB key with you.
  • Create Reference lists in a variety of different citation styles with a click of a button.
  • Create in-text citations automatically as you write your paper. 
  • Capture citation information from websites.

Citation Management Tools to Choose from

new refworks logo

RefWorks is a citation management software program which is paid for through Tulane University. Students will have access to their account after they graduate. RefWorks has a large number of Journal specific citation styles to choose from as well as standard citation styles.

RefWorks has two useful plugins:

  • Write-N-Cite: A Word plugin which creates automatic in-text citations in the citation style of your choosing
  • RefGrab-It: A tool which captures the citation information from websites

Step-by-step RefWorks and Write-N-Cite instructions for Tulane Students (RefWorks LEGACY): including instructions on creating your account, managing your citations, database specific import/export instructions (including EBSCO and ProQuest platforms), creating your bibliography, and Write-N-Cite instructions.

Logo for Endnote 9

EndNote X9 is a comprehensive productivity tool for researchers—both online and off. The only tool of its kind, EndNote X9 makes managing research easy for anyone from the novice researcher publishing their first discovery to the senior professor writing a grant. It lets researchers find, store, and share work in the most efficient way possible, saving time and effort.

EndNote X9 instructions for downloading and using the program, including tutorials can be found at https://libguides.tulane.edu/endnote

EndNote Web - A link for Tulane users

EndNote Basic (or EndNote Web) is a citation management tool integrated into Web of Science. EndNote Web allows you to import records from other databases too. If you have EndNote Desktop (not freely available), you can sync it with EndNote Web. 

EndNote Basic has two useful plugins:

  • Cite While You Write: A Word plugin which allows you to create automatic in-text citations and a bibliography for your paper. 
  • Capture Tool:  A tool which captures the citation information from websites.

Step-by-step EndNote Basic and Cite While You Write Instructions for Tulane Studentsincluding instructions on creating your account, managing your citations, database specific import/export instructions (including EBSCO and ProQuest platforms), creating your bibliography, and Cite While You Write instructions.

EndNote Basic Online HelpSite with instructions for using EndNote Web

Mendeley logo

Mendeley is a desktop and web-based citation management tool. With it you can organize research materials, annotate PDFs, and create citations. You can also network with others researching in your discipline who are using Mendeley. Read more about it from Wikipedia.

A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

Since this is an Open Source Product, you have a lot of flexibility and can rely on a large community for troubleshooting and answers to your question.  

LaTeX : Freely available high-quality typesetting system used primarily in the Physical Sciences. Particularly useful for type-setting mathematical or chemical formulas as well as large documents.

BibTeX is an additional tool and file format which works with LaTeX to create bibliographies. Compatible with other Citation management software as well.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.