It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences
Guide to locating data sets commonly used by social scientists and other researchers on a wide range of topics.
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Starting in July, 2019, this new portal is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.
A map-based interface to U.S. Census data from 1790 to the present. Also includes recent census data from Canada and the UK, EuroStat's European Statistics, and the World Bank's World Development Indicators.
More Popular Data Sources
This guide is designed to provide easy access to the most commonly access sources of data, as well as to provide tips on how to track down those more specialized or obscure datasets. If you need assistance, a librarian is happy to assist you.
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
iPoll is a finding aid to locate national US public opinion polls. iPOLL contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the US over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations. NOTE: You will need to create/register a user account and profile using a Tulane.edu email address to access this database.
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.