Here are some staff picks to help keep us all entertained and informed while we practice social distancing. For more information on accessing TU subscribed digital resources off campus follow the link here.
Lawrence N. Powell, a decades-long resident and observer of New Orleans, gives us the full sweep of the city's history from its founding through Louisiana statehood in 1812. This is a city, and a history, marked by challenges and perpetual shifts in shape and direction, like the sinuous river on which it is perched.
This book gathers contributions by 16 international authors on the phenomenon "bats," shedding some light on their morphology, the feeding behaviors (insects, fruits, blood) of different groups, their potential and confirmed transmissions of agents of diseases, their endo- and ectoparasites, as well as countless myths surrounding their lifestyle (e.g. vampirism, chupacabras, batman etc.). This book provides a broad range of information for all non-experts interested in biological topics, but also for people working in this field, as well as physicians and veterinarians who are confronted with clinical cases, and for teachers and students interested in expanding their knowledge of biology and of past and present cultures.
Exploring the Crescent City from the ground up, Richard Campanella takes us on a winding journey toward explaining the city's distinct urbanism and eccentricities. In Cityscapes of New Orleans, Campanella, a historical geographer and professor at Tulane University, reveals the why behind the where, delving into the historical and cultural forces that have shaped the spaces of New Orleans for over three centuries.
The stages of antebellum New Orleans did more than entertain. Moving from France to the Caribbean to the American continent, Creole Drama follows the people that created and sustained French theatre culture in New Orleans from its inception in 1792 until the beginning of the Civil War. Recognizing theatres as sites of cultural exchange that could cross oceans and borders, Creole Drama offers not only a detailed history of francophone theatre in New Orleans but also an account of the surprising ways in which multilingualism and early transnational networks helped create the American nation.
This book shows how patents and the inventions they describe have shaped the modern world. Patent documents from the 19th century to the present are covered, from frozen foods and ring-pulls for soft drink cans, to Monopoly, to MRI and insulin.
To make the journey into the Now we will need to leave our analytical mind and its false created self, the ego, behind. From the very first page of Eckhart Tolle's extraordinary book, we move rapidly into a significantly higher altitude where we breathe a lighter air. We become connected to the indestructible essence of our Being, "The eternal, ever present One Life beyond the myriad forms of life that are subject to birth and death." Although the journey is challenging, Eckhart Tolle uses simple language and an easy question and answer format to guide us.
Epidemiologists are braced for the big one: the strain of flu that rivals the pandemic of 1918-1919, which killed at least 20 million people worldwide. In recent years, we have experienced scares with a host of new influenza viruses: bird flu, swine flu, Spanish flu, Hong Kong flu, H5N1, and most recently, H5N7. While these diseases appear to emerge from thin air, in fact, human activity is driving them. In this new, fully updated edition, the author presents research that precisely pinpoints the origins of HIV, confirms the link between forest fragmentation and increased risk of Lyme disease, and expands knowledge of the ecology of West Nile virus. He also explores developments in emerging diseases, including a new chapter on flu, examining the first influenza pandemic since the Hong Kong flu of 1968; a new tick-borne infection in the Mid-West; a second novel bird flu in China; and yet a new SARS-like virus in the Middle East. Readers will not only learn how these diseases emerged but the conditions that make future pandemics more likely. This knowledge is critical in order to prevent the next modern plague.
The short stories and poems in this collection were written by students at King George VI School and Centre for Physically Disabled Children in Zimbabwe's second city, Bulawayo. HIV and AIDS have had a devastating effect on all the communities of Zimbabwe, and those with disabilities have not been exempt from the effects of the virus, as is reflected in many of the pieces in this collection. Some of the stories and poems tell the stories of their lives, some come straight from their imagination, and some simply speak of their dreams for a better future.
In this compact and engrossing biography, Donald Pease reveals the evolution of Dr. Seuss's creative persona while offering an honest appraisal of his life. The book also features many of Dr. Seuss's lesser-known illustrations, including college drawings, insecticide ads, and wartime political cartoons-all of which offer a glimpse of his early artistic style and the visual origins of the more famous creatures that later populated his children's books. As Pease traces the full arc of Dr. Seuss's prolific career, he combines close textual readings of many of Dr. Suess's works with a unique look at their genesis to shed new light on the enduring legacy of America's favorite children's book author.
The extraordinary documentation of the evolving friendship between the Dalai Lama and the man who followed him across Ireland and Eastern Europe, on a pilgrimage to India’s holy sites, and through the Dalai Lama’s near fatal illness. On this remarkable journey Victor Chan was awarded an insight into His Holiness-his life, his fears, his faith, his compassion, his day-to-day practice-that no one has reported before.
A diverse collection of 6 individual databases with information about Coptic ceramics, American and British art objects held in France, a general database of museum holdings across France as well as everything on display at the Louvre.
On February 7, 2017, The Metropolitan Museum of Art implemented a new policy known as Open Access, which makes images of artworks it believes to be in the public domain widely and freely available for unrestricted use, and at no cost, in accordance with the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website.
Open access videos and essays on art and cultural history from the Paleolithic era to the 21st century that include the art of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania. Includes signed essays by art historians, curators, and archaeologists and videos are unscripted conversations between experts recorded on location in front of the original work of art or architecture.
Tulane University digitized and native-digital collections. Includes Special Collections from the Louisiana Research Collection, Hogan Jazz Archive, Amistad Research Center, Latin American Library, Southeastern Architectural Archive, University Archives, and Matas Library of the Health Sciences.
John Murdoch awakens alone in a strange hotel to find that he has lost his memory and is wanted for a series of brutal and bizarre murders. While trying to piece together his past, he stumbles upon a fiendish underworld controlled by a group of beings known as The Strangers who possess the ability to put people to sleep and alter the city and its inhabitants. Now Murdoch must find a way to stop them before they take control of his mind and destroy him.
In this dark, definitive film noir, Mitchum and Douglas square off in a game of duplicity and viciousness. Jane Greer is the amoral seductress who manipulates them both. Jacques Tourneur holds the multilayered plot together with gritty logic and perceptive visuals.
A platform for accessing and viewing a variety of streaming film collections. Currently includes the Media Education Foundation (MEF) collection focusing on gender, race, media, culture, and identity, as well as selected titles from the Criterion Collection. New titles added periodically.
Call Number: Streaming - License exp. Nov 15, 2021
Publication Date: 1963
Marcello Mastroianni plays Guido Anselmi, a director whose new project is collapsing around him, along with his life. One of the greatest films about film ever made, Federico Fellini's 8 1/2 (Otto e mezzo) turns one man's artistic crisis into a grand epic of the cinema.
Big Charity shares the untold story of Charity Hospital - an iconic New Orleans institution which was closed in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Through firsthand accounts of hospital employees who withstood the storm, as well as interviews with key players involved in the flood's aftermath, the film raises a troubling question - was the decision to close New Orleans' functioning hospital for the poor driven by the opportunity to use Katrina FEMA money for something new?
Call Number: Streaming - License exp. Mar 12, 2022
Publication Date: 2008
The riveting story of one community's epic struggle for racial equality - from slave revolts and underground free black antebellum resistance, through the challenges of post-Katrina rebuilding today - all set to a fabulous soundtrack of New Orleans music through the ages.
Call Number: Streaming - License exp. Jan 15, 2023
Publication Date: 2014
The first Iranian vampire western ever made. A joyful mash-up of genre, archetype, and iconography, its prolific influences span spaghetti westerns, graphic novels, horror films and the Iranian new wave.
My Brooklyn follows director Kelly Anderson's journey, as a Brooklyn gentrifier, to understand the forces reshaping her neighborhood. The film's ultimate question is increasingly relevant on a global scale: who has a right to live in cities and determine their future?
The culture of New Orleans represents the mixing of many rich traditions: French, Spanish, African, Irish, Italian. At the heart of this unique culture lie its speechways, the subject of Yeah You Rite!, a close-up video profile of a single language community.
The world's largest online classical music library. Offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Includes leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
Combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.