It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access to Journal Literature: A Guide
What is open access? This guide includes evidence-based public health resources, grey literature, free full text journal articles ("open access"), domestic access and more.
Data-Planet Ready Reference is a very large dynamic repository with the ability to ingest massive amounts of statistical data combined with descriptive content and a robust suite of visualization, search, and analysis capabilities on a single platform.
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
The DHS Program has created model datasets so users can become familiar with datasets without having to register for access. These datasets have been created strictly for practice and do not represent any country's actual data. Model datasets are based on the DHS 6 Questionnaire and Recode.
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. Content from Eldis is available for re-use under a Creative Commns license.
A free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights. With the collaboration of a worldwide network of partners—including NGOs, academics and private researchers—the database offers an interactive, searchable, and fully indexed website of case law, national constitutions and international instruments.
WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. GHO covers global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, women and health, mortality and burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity, and health systems.
The Spatial Data Repository provides geographically-linked health and demographic data from the MEASURE Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) project and the U.S. Census Bureau for mapping in a geographic information system (GIS).
Analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Provides data derived, either directly or indirectly, from official statistical systems organized and financed by national governments. Click on Data by Topic to find several options, including health.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.
The intent of the Parish Health Profiles is to provide information that will support data driven planning and implementation of health policies and interventions to improve health outcomes for Louisiana and its communities. This site allows you to access the entire Parish Health Profile documents, as well as the data sets for each parish.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.
The USDA provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), National Health Care Surveys, National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), National Vital Statistics System (NVSS), National Survey of Family Growth, State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (SLAITS), National Immunization Survey.
A digital collection of public use datasets for occupational and environmental health studies of workers at DOE facilities and nearby community residents. Create account to download data. From the US Department of Energy (DOE).
A collaboration of CHR&R with Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) in one central location. Measures vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
Effective August 31, 2017, Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) will no longer be supported, but CHR&R will now allow nationwide comparison of counties with similar populations based on key demographic, social, and economic indicators. This important collaboration allows CHR&R to deliver popular functionality of both CHSI and CHR&R products in one central location.
HINTS collects nationally representative data about the use of cancer-related information, including: changing patterns, needs, and information opportunities in health, changing communications trends and practices, cancer information access and usage, how cancer risks are perceived. From the National Cancer Institute.
IHME works to identify the best strategies to build a healthier world. By measuring health, tracking program performance, finding ways to maximize health system impact, and developing innovative measurement systems, IHME provides a foundation for informed decision-making that ultimately will lead to better health globally.
Medicare Claims Public Use Files. Each file has its own documentation describing file layout and variable values, as well as program code for creating SAS datasets. Click on the link in the left menu for the specific PUF to access documentation and download instructions.
Demographic data resources. All MPC data are available free over the internet. Includes international and domestic population surveys, tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files, 1790 - present; annual data on people in the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, 1960s - present; American Time Use Survey, 2003-present; Demographic and Health Surveys, 1980s-present; integrated data on population and the environment, 1960- present.
Free, online collection of local public health tools produced by members of the public health community. Current examples of tools include, but are not limited to case examples, presentations, fact sheets, drills, evaluations, protocols, templates, reports, and training materials.
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Bureau associates concentrate on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the economic effects of public policies, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
Emergency Department Data / DAWN
Substance Abuse Facilities Data / NSSATS
Mental Health Facilities Data / NMHSS
Client Level Data / TEDS
Population Data / NSDUH
Online Analysis & Public Use Files / SAMHDA
SAMHSA Data Archive (pre-2010 data)