Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz

A research guide and general overview of Hogan Archive collections and other helpful research resources for the study of the musical culture of New Orleans.

Overview

The Hogan Archive has thousands of moving image resources in its collection. In addition to the general commercial DVD and VHS collection, which is searchable via the Library Catalog, there are also unique 16mm films, collections from local filmmakers Jim Gabour and Don Perry, and the complete Music City, Louisiana Jukebox, and LTV series by Cox Communications. It is also a repository for the New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park Oral History Project, undertaken by the New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park and the New Orleans Jazz Commission. Please email specialcollections@tulane.edu for assistance or to learn more.

DVDs and VHS

Researchers may search our commercial DVD and VHS holdings - including documentaries, feature films, and television shows - via the online Library Catalog.

For a more precise search, use the Advanced Search page and be sure to limit your Location to "Special Collections (Jones Hall)" and Format to "Video Recording."

Film holdings

Michel Bastide Collection
The majority of the Bastide films are commercial prints or clips from jazz soundies and feature films released by companies including Paramount, Warner Brothers, and MGM.

Dave McCain/Boswell Sisters Collection
Commercial film clips related to the Boswell Sisters, donated by David McCain in 1998


Additionally, there are unique films created by Bill Russell, Jack Terry, and Jack Hurley, which are pertinent to the history of jazz culture in New Orleans.

Other notable collections

Jim Gabour Collection
149 U-Matic tapes. Jim Gabour is a local filmmaker whose work focuses primarily on music and cultural diversity.

Don Perry Collection
863 U-Matic tapes. Don Perry was a television news cameraman for local NBC-affiliate station, WDSU. He was also a co-founder of the New Orleans Jazz Club. The collection consists of his own original footage, as well segments and shows taped from television, much of it jazz-related.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.