Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz

A research guide and general overview of Hogan Archive collections and other helpful research resources for the study of the musical culture of New Orleans.

Sheet Music Collections

The Hogan Archive's main collection of sheet music and orchestrations is accessible by Special Collections staff via catalog cards. To learn more about these collections, please email specialcollections@tulane.edu. Other major sheet music collections include the Louisiana Sheet Music Collection and the Maxwell Sheet Music Collection, which are searchable online via the Tulane Digital Library (TUDL) and Tulane University Special Collections on ArchivesSpace, respectively.

Louisiana Sheet Music Collection


The Louisiana Sheet Music Collection is comprised of sheet music published in, or with topical relevance to Louisiana (with an emphasis on New Orleans).  Many important local composers are represented, including Basile Bares, Eugene Chassaignac, Edouard Dejan and Louis Gottschalk as well as several interesting, but lesser known composers.  The collection covers 100 years in the history of local publishing (1838-1938) and represents a wide range of styles of popular and vernacular music.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.