Library Guides: Primary Sources: United States &amp; Canadian History: Historical News Coverage

Historical Newspapers

See also the News & Newspapers guide for a complete listing of news sources and newspaper databases, current and historical.

Access World News - Historical and Current
A vast collection of more than 16,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. This one-stop database allows you to search all Newsbank current and historical news sources that Tulane subscribes to, including Access World News, America's Historical Newspapers, World Newspaper Archive, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, and the Times-Picayune collection. Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, communications, economics, education, health, journalism, marketing, politics, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
America's Historical Newspapers
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
Black Abolitionist Papers
This collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves. Includes articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
Civil War Era: Newspapers and Pamphlets
Includes the earliest editions of the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1840 to 1865 and other important American newspapers and pamphlets from the antebellum and Civil War period: The Boston Herald (1846-1865); The Charleston Mercury (1840-1865); The Columbus Gazette (1856-1865); The Daily Dispatch (1852-1865); The Daily Ohio State Journal (1841-1841); Daily Ohio State Journal (1849-1853); The Daily Picayune (1840-1865); The Louisville Daily Journal (1840-1865); Memphis Daily Appeal (1847-1865); Morning Herald (1840-1840); The New York Herald (1840-1865); Ohio State Journal (1840-1841); and Weekly Ohio State Journal (1841-1849).
Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799 - 1971)
Ethnic American Newspapers features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states, with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Historical Black Newspapers
Contains: New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), and Los Angeles Sentinel (1946-2005)
History Commons
Primary source database with materials relating to global indigenous peoples, LGBTQ+ communities, refugees and migration, and social justice, as well as African American history.

Tulane has access to the following History Commons modules:
- Indigenous Peoples Social Justice and Culture
- LGBTQ+ Social Justice and Culture
- Refugees, Migration, and Borders Social Justice and Culture
- African American Newspapers parts I-XIIS (formerly Accessible Archives)
- Civil War Collection Part 1, A Newspaper Perspective
- The Liberator, 1831-1865
- The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1780
- The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Record
- Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets
- Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman
- Twelve Years a Slave
- The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780
Illustrated Civil War: Newspapers and Magazines
formerly known as American Civil War: Newspapers and Magazines. Contains newspapers and magazines from the Civil War era.
Newspapers.com
Extensive online database of 4,000+ and growing historical newspapers from the early 1700's into the 2000's published in the U.S., Canada, U.K., Ireland, Panama, Australia, Papau New Guinea, and the Philippines. Includes Louisiana Weekly (1956-1963) and 36 other Louisiana newspapers.

To clip, save, and share articles, sign in and create a free Newspapers.com or Ancestry.com account.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Access 500+ U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900, many published in what were, at the time, territories. Covers a broad spectrum with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Advanced search page to access all ProQuest news databases—both historical and current—available through Tulane University Libraries. Encompasses the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Latin American newsstream, Le Monde, Historical Black newspapers, Jewish American press, and more.

Tulane provides access to:
- The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
- The American Israelite (1854-1874)
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1993)
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1998, 2008-present)
- Civil War Era Newspapers & Pamphlets
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-present)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1932-2010)
- Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
- The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022)
- The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
- The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
- The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
- Latin American Newsstream
- Le Monde (1944-2000)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (2008-present)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-present)
- New York Tribune (1841-1922)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1841-1922)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2012)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
- The Washington Post (1877-current)
- U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.
Times Digital Archive
Access back issues of The Times (London) from 1785-1985.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans of the Wall Street Journal with searchable full text of every available issue from 1889 to 2012. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

Magazine Archives

Ebony Magazine Archive
Covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Includes magazines and trade publications in music, theatre, film, gaming, and performing arts business industry from the early 1900s to the early 21st century.

Tulane has access to EIMA2 Cinema, Film, and Television (Part 1) and the coverage is from 1880-2000.
Fortune Magazine Archive
Extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
JET Magazine Archives
Jet was originally a weekly published as a sister publication to Ebony Magazine by John H. Johnson beginning in 1951. It was published weekly and covered art, fashion, entertainment, culture and news related to the African-American community. EBSCO's full-text archive is searchable from cover to cover and offers essential historical content, much of which is not available on any other EBSCO full-text product. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate information.
Women's Magazine Archive
ProQuest's Women's Magazine Archive is an archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. The magazines are all scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color, including images and advertisements

This resource includes: Archive 1: Better Homes & Gardens (1922-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005); Ladies’ Home Journal (1883-2005); Parents (1926-2005); Redbook (1903-2005). Archive 2: Town and Country (1846 to 2005); Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005); Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005); Seventeen (1944 to 2005); Essence (1970 to 2005); Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003). Archive 3: Company (1978 to 2005); Cosmopolitan UK Edition (1972 to 2005); Flare (1979 to 2005); Good Housekeeping UK Edition (1922 to 2005); Prima (1986 to 2005); and She (1955 to 2003).

News in Video

WSLS-TV (Roanoke, VA) News Film Collection, 1951 to 1971
Local television news coverage from Roanoke, Virginia. May be of special interest to researchers of civil rights activities of the included time period.

Primary Sources: United States & Canadian History

Search by Title

Historical Newspapers

Magazine Archives

News in Video