It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GCHB 7130: Research Methods in Social and Behavioral Sciences: Course Guide
Online books, journals and resources for global community health and behavioral sciences
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Vendor: EBSCO Date coverage: 1937 - current Print equivalent: Not available Description: Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals are also included. Full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Format: Some full text
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. Coverage: 1861 to present. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997. For Tulane dissertations, selective full text coverage begins in 1957.
Biomedical, pharmaceutical and medical device research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
An international public health database.
Tulane is licensed to allow access for 3 users at a time The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status
human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects), indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
tropical diseases (including field and experimental studies)
parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage: 1952-present
Update Frequency: Monthly, with approximately 30,000 records added per year.
Subject coverage: Culture and social structure, Family and marriage, History and theory of sociology, Organizational sociology, Political sociology, Poverty and homelessness, Race and ethnicity, Social change and economic development, Social control, Sociology of health and medicine, Sociology of education
Contains informative abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, more than 530 "priority" coverage journals, and over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. Vendor: EBSCO
Date coverage: 1895 - current
Description: Contains informative abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, more than 530 "priority" coverage journals, and over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources is included. Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study such as abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and others.
Interactive infectious disease tool. Includes diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and microbiology. Especially useful for tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
The Surgeon General of the Public Health Service has focused the Nation's attention on important public health issues. Reports of the Surgeon General on the adverse health consequences of smoking triggered nationwide efforts to prevent tobacco use. Reports on nutrition, violence, and HIV/AIDS—to name but a few—have heightened America's awareness of important public health issues and generated major public health initiatives.
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
POPLINE was a valuable resource to the population, family planning, and reproductive health community for over 40 years (1973-2019). Site now home to links for alternative access to journal articles that collectively meet the majority of POPLINE user requests.
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.
Scholarly Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary full-text general literature Multi-disciplinary database covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Annual ReviewsComprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Tulane subscribes to current and backfiles of select Annual Reviews titles.
ERIC (EBSCO)The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides full text of more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. Good for school health, patient health, pediatric topics. Coverage from 1966-present.
InCites Journal Citation ReportsAllows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN.
Web of Science CoreIncludes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited).Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. 1976 - present.