Library Guides: Infectious Diseases Research Guide: Infectious Disease Databases

GIDEON : Flobal Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Network

GIDEON is the premier medical decision support web application and ebooks series covering infectious diseases and microbiology.

Gideon This link opens in a new window
Interactive infectious disease tool. Includes diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and microbiology. Especially useful for tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.

Systematic Reviews and More

These databases contain systematic reviews and other resources for Evidence-Based Practice (EBP).

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Reviews in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are prepared by authors who register titles with one of 52 Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review Group focuses on a specific topic area and is led by a Coordinating Editor(s) and an editorial team including a Managing Editor and an Information Specialist. The Cochrane Review Groups provide authors with methodological and editorial support to prepare Cochrane Reviews, and manage the editorial process, including peer review. These systematic reviews differ from other types of review in that they adhere to a strict design in order to make them more comprehensive, minimizing the chance of bias, and ensuring reliability. Rather than reflecting the views of the authors, or being based on a partial selection of the literature, (as is the case with many articles and reviews that are not explicitly systematic), they contain all known references to trials on a particular intervention and a comprehensive summary of the available evidence.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Filter PubMed search results by clinical study category (diagnosis, prognosis, etiology, therapy) and scope (broad or narrow).

Web of Science

Web of Science provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. (Tulane license has coverage: 1976 - present)

Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

Article Databases

Refer to these databases for journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. If an article is not available at the Matas Library, copies can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical, pharmaceutical and medical device research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 18 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. HIV/AIDS care is one of the many subject areas covered by CINAHL.