Library Guides: Occupational Health Research Guide: Databases

Searching Key databases FOR Medical Literature

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed@TU

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) Browser
Controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles for MEDLINE/PubMed. Also used in the Library Catalog.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical, pharmaceutical and medical device research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

EMERGENCY TOXICITY SEARCHING - MICROMEDEX + RightAnswer (RightAnswer.com, Inc.)

MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.

Chemical Databases and Material Safety Data Sheets. (HAZARDTEXT & MEDITEXT) + ChemKnowledge® -- RegsKnowledge™ products.) You will be required to register/sign-in using your Tulane academic email address. Your Tulane email address will be your log-in.

RightAnswer.com, Inc (Academic Access)
Tulane users will need to register. Tulane network access is required. This product was called: Corporate Solutions. Academic use for teaching and students only.

RightAnswer® Knowledge Solutions Registration
Register using your tulane email address - username@tulane.edu

Databases for Occupational and Environmental Health

Ergonomics Abstracts This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost. Mainstream ergonomics, but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, occupational health, etc.

ProQuest
Search multiple databases and types of materials including dissertations.
Emergency Response Safety and Health Database (ERSH-DB)
ERSH-DB. A rapidly accessible occupational safety and health database developed by NIOSH for the emergency response community.

Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Engineering, Technological risks, biological risks, natural hazards Environmental Risks
Medical and Environmental Health
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Environmental Science Index - Public health, safety and industrial hygine, 1981- present
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost. Nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for many journals indexed in CINAHL.
CISILO Database This link opens in a new window
CISDOC database - International Occupational Safety and Health Knowledge Network - citations of documents that deal with occupational accidents and diseases

Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
A digital collection of public use datasets for occupational and environmental health studies of workers at DOE facilities and nearby community residents. Create account to download data. From the US Department of Energy (DOE).
eLCOSH - Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health
NIOSH funded. A collection of information on construction safety and health from CPWR – Center for Construction Research and Training.
more...less...
About eLCOSH - The Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety and Health was developed and is maintained by CPWR – Center for Construction Research and Training (CPWR) with support from grants CCU317202 and 1 U54 OH008307 from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). eLCOSH is intended to provide accurate, user-friendly information about safety and health for construction workers from a wide range of sources worldwide. The contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of NIOSH.
TRID Database - Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS & IRTD) Bibliographic database of transportation research. RID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

Chemical Searching - CAS - SciFinder & Toxicology Databases

PubChem
NCBI product - a freely available database of structures, properties, and the biological activities of small molecules.
more...less...
December 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information
PubChem Training Course (free online access)
A self-paced tutorial
_____________________________
Haz-Map - Information on Hazardous Chemicals and Occupational Diseases
Haz-Map® is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents.
more...less...
The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.
Comparative Toxicogenomics Database
New Dashboard is a complete rebuild and is replacing the CompTox Chemicals Dashboard released on July 12th 2020
CompTox Chemicals Dashboard (EPA)
United States Environmental Protection Agency. A substance identifier. ChemIDPlus includes mappings to the CompTox Dashboard.
more...less...
The interactive CompTox dashboard is part of a suite of databases and web applications developed by the EPA interactive Chemical Safety for Sustainability (iCSS) Research Program
Geospatial Resources at EPA
Integrated Risk Information System (EPA)
EPA’s IRIS Program supports this mission by identifying and characterizing the health hazards of chemicals found in the environment.
Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program (EPA)
Resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities.
Consumer Product Information Database (CPID)
Health effects of consumer products - Enter Products, Manufacturers, Chemicals, Product Categories and Product Type.
ITER - International Toxicity Estimates for Risk Assessment
Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assesssment, TERA
ToxTutor
ToxTutor is a self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology and was adopted from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) chemical and toxicology databases. While a knowledge of anatomy and physiology is not required for viewing ToxTutor, the Introduction to the Human Body from the National Cancer Institute provides a good introduction to the topic.
ToxInfo.io
Welcome to ToxInfo.io, your FREE resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and environmental health.
TOXNET Update: New Locations for TOXNET Content
Search Strategy Used to Create the PubMed Toxicology Filter
No longer updated, using tox [subset] in PubMed searching.
Tulane information for CAS SciFinder-n
Create a user name and password to use SciFinder-n (ACS-American Chemical Society)

Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar

Accessing SciFinder-n Web Edition (PC or Mac) is a two-step process.

ACS Journals Search This link opens in a new window
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.

SciFinder Help & Tutorials

If a patron needs to create an account: Please go to https://library.tulane.edu/resources/scifinder-n and click on “Create Personal Account”. This will take you to the university proxy, if you are off campus, where you will need to login with your university credentials. Once completed you will be able to register for a SciFinder-n account.