Consists of more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical Library of Congress collections. The primary source and archival materials relating in the project cover topics from art and architecture to performing arts to technology.
An image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Coverage spans over 185 years. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.
A leading digital media company offering images (Rights Managed or Royalty-Free), as well as Illustrations and more. Over 100 million images, including historic photographs. One of their most notable collections is the famed Bettmann Archive.
Over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials is drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
Adeane Bregman at Boston College created a fantastic Finding Images guide. In her words, "This guide presents scholarly and commercial sources available on line and through the web". Of particular interest is the way she's segmented her subjects; she includes tabs on citing image sources, images from literature, religious imagery, and image features from other databases, to name a few.
Images from virtually every country in the region dating from the mid-19th century to the present. Formats include print photographs and negatives, stereographic images, slides, glass slides and historic postcards.
Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
The Tulane University Digital Library's (TUDL) mission is the production and delivery of digitized and native digital holdings that support the teaching, research and public service goals of the University. The online communities of scholars, students and the public have access to the rare and unique collections in areas such as Latin American studies, jazz, New Orleans and Louisiana history and architecture.
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections. Explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Documents working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, etc.