Library Guides: Cell &amp; Molecular Biology Library Guide: Find Books

Why Use Books?

Books are useful for research because they provide:

An in-depth overview of a topic which is more focused than an encyclopedia but less specific than a Journal article
Background information on a topic
A general overview of a topic and how it relates to broader, narrow or related themes and issues
A reliable and authoritative works cited, reference list or bibliography

Library Search at Tulane This link opens in a new window
One-stop discovery of books/eBooks, articles, digital media, and more at Tulane University Libraries.

Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.
TU/LU Card
To access Loyola's Monroe Library. For undergraduate students.
LALINC Card
To access Libraries of other Louisiana universities and colleges. Graduate students & Faculty

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.

Google Books
Use Google Books to do a full-text search of books in their database. If you find something you want, copy the title into Library Search and see if it's available. If not, order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)

Springer Books - Life Sciences
Collection of books published by Springer-Verlag. Only books marked with a green box are accessible to Tulane researchers. Many Springer books available in print at the library are also available online.
NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf, the books division of the NLM Literature Archive, is an online collection of full-text books, reports, databases and other documents.