Library Guides: Afro-Latin American Women and Feminism : Find News

About

This section contains a variety of news databases, online newspapers and blogs, podcasts, and video archives to help you locate a news item relating to Afro-Latinxs in the U.S. and/or Africans and Afro-descendants in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Databases

These databases allow full-text searches of current news sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage varies depending on the newspapers included in each database.

Latin American Newsstream
This database provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from 11 Latin American countries and Puerto Rico. Click on the PUBLICATIONS tab to see which newspapers and years are included in this database.
Access World News - Historical and Current
This vast collection with world coverage includes 50 news sources from South America, 16 from Central America, 16 from the Caribbean, and 12 from Mexico. Use the map or A-Z Source List to see which news sources are included in this database.
Factiva
Full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, and other sources of business and general news, plus company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. Allows you to search by region including: Argentina, Brazil, the European Union, Mexico, and Spain. Note: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.

Analysis, Digests, and Reports

On the following sites you can find Latin America-focused news digests, bulletins and intelligence reports. These resources provide commentary and contextual information on current events.

NACLA Report on the Americas
The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization that provides information and analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. Their archives are searchable by year and keyword.

Latin American News Digest
Latin American News Digest aggregates the news of the Latin American media to provide a wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans.

EcoAméricas
A monthly report in Spanish and English which covers development and the environment in Latin America for an international audience of businesses, NGOs and public agencies.
Latin America Daily Briefing
Daily dispatch of news from Latin America and the Caribbean--a mix of stories from the international and local press, as well as analysis from think tanks, academics and other commentators.
LatinNews
Political and economic digest and analysis.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Search economics reports, news, and forecasts by country.

América Latina en Movimiento
Online newspaper of the Agencia Latinoamericana de Información, an international organization whose stated mission is to cover human rights, gender equality and citizen participation in the development and public affairs of Latin America. Available in English, Spanish & Portuguese.
Inter Press Service
Agency dedicated to "news and views from the Global South."
MercoPress
Based in Montevideo, Uruguay, MercoPress is an independent news agency started in 1993 which focuses on delivering news related to the Mercosur trade and political bloc, and member countries, covering an area of influence which includes South America, the South Atlantic and insular territories. Available in English & Spanish.