Library Guides: ENLS 5010: Death at the Party (Zumhagen-Yekplé): Getting Started

Reference Materials for English

Reference sources are an important first step in any research process. They'll save you time by providing a quick, broad understanding of your topic so that you're informed enough to carefully refine your project's focus. Search individual reference databases, or run a search using the "Everything" scope setting and then use the "Resource Type" filter to exclude everything but reference sources from your results.

Our English reference resources include databases that focus more generally on significant authors' biographies as well as resources that are dedicated specifically to major topics in literary criticism.

Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Addresses all facets of literary study, including biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works. LRC includes access to the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twayne's Authors Series, and Scribner Writers Series.
Literary Reference eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The Literary Reference eBook Collection is an eBook reference collection with a focus on titles covering a broad range of literary-related subjects. Selections include literary criticism and study guides.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism 1400 - 1800, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism.