Library Guides: Film and Audio Resources @ Tulane University Libraries: Where to Listen

Stream Music and Spoken Word Recordings

ACE Online Archive/ Alan Lomax Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to field recordings, photographs, radio programs, interviews, and lectures of Alan Lomax.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company.
DRAM This link opens in a new window
A primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings neglected by the commercial marketplace.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Music Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive streaming audio collection of classical music.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Sounds of all regions from every continent to include genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
A collection of sound files of the world's musical and aural traditions, based on the collection of Folkways Records.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of classical music. Download the app from your favorite app store.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of jazz across styles and countries.
Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new window
Audio library of the spoken word. Includes fiction, non-fiction, poetry and plays.

Sounds of Louisiana
A collection of sounds collected throughout Louisiana. Please contact lhooper1@tulane.edu if you are interested in adding more sounds to this collection.
The Louis J. Boeri and Minín Bujones Boeri Collection of Cuban-American Radionovelas, 1963-1970
Listen to radionovelas, mysteries, advice, and variety shows penned by acclaimed Cuban scriptwriters in exile as well as Mexican writers aired over the radio throughout the 1960s.

When It's Not Online

The rich audio collections of Tulane Libraries are a reflection of local and global musical cultures. In the collections housed and maintained by Media Services, the Tulane learning community can discover hundreds of independently released New Orleans albums, classical art music, experimental music, electroacoustic music, popular music, as well as a representative sampling of international art, traditional, and popular music.

All of our recordings can be discovered by searching Library Search and using the resource type filter 'audio'.

Media Services provides several listening options:

Listening Station

Check out a pair of headphones from the 6th floor service desk and settle in for some deep listening of CDs, LPs, and cassette tapes. You can listen to the library's music collection or bring your own recordings.

Location: 6th floor

Check Out a USB DVD Drive/Disc Reader

Compatible with any computer equipped with a USB3 port, these portable disc readers may be used to watch DVDs from the library's extensive film collection or a personal collection.

Related Resources: Check Availability