Library instruction provides students with knowledge, skills, and dispositions necessary to appropriately interact with information in any form. With this, library instructors are committed to helping students through the research and creative project lifecycle. Through library instruction, students enhance their information literacy (including data literacy, media literacy, and other related literacies). By integrating library instruction into your coursework, students--
- Gain a deeper understanding of information bias and misinformation
- Learn how to approach the research lifecycle with respect to creating, finding, and sharing information
- Confront and critique their own information practices and biases
- Incorporate tools necessary to becoming organized researchers
- Interact with librarians they'll encounter throughout their time at the university
Information literacy is the ability to engage with information to achieve an information need related to research and creative endeavors. Librarians are experts in information literacy, data literacy, media literacy, and a host of other related literacies, helping students discern bias and determine what information is appropriate to fulfill their information need.
Library Instruction sessions are customizable. Faculty can choose from a variety of topics, including (but not limited to):
- Strategically searching the library's catalog and other academic databases
- Academic Publishing
- Citation and Citation Politics
- Media Literacy (podcasting, video recording, etc.)
- Primary Sources, Special Collections, and Archival Materials
- Data Management, Data Analysis, and Data Visualization
Library instruction is provided by librarians across the University Libraries. Consult the chart below to find the right instructor for your discipline.
| Librarian | Disciplines | Department/Library |
|---|---|---|
| Kay P Maye | Sociology, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Social Work, Economics, Political Economy, Emergency & Security Studies, Data Analysis & Visualization, Data Management | Scholarly Engagement |
| Raquel Horlick |
Biomedical Engineering, Biosciences, Cell and Molecular Biology, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Neuroscience, Psychology | Scholarly Engagement |
| Victoria Elmwood |
Classics, English, French and Italian, German and Slavic Studies, Medieval Studies |
Scholarly Engagement |
| Katherine Hicks |
Art, Architecture, Communications, Philosophy, and Media + Design | Scholarly Engagement |
| Rachel Stein | Anthropology, History, Jewish Studies, Political Science, Africana Studies, Middle East & North African Studies, Asian Studies, Native American Studies, Linguistics | Scholarly Engagement |
| Kim Wheeler | Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Environmental Studies, Mathematics, Physics & Engineering Physics, River-Coastal Science and Engineering | Scholarly Engagement |
| lisa Hooper | Music, Dance, Theatre, introductory creative media literacy | Scholarly Engagement/Media Services |
| Amy Corder | School of Medicine, School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine | Matas Library of the Health Sciences, Downtown Campus |
| Laura Wright | School of Medicine, School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine | Matas Library of the Health Sciences, Downtown Campus |
| Mary Holt | School of Medicine, School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine | Matas Library of the Health Sciences, Downtown Campus |
| Bea Calvert | School of Medicine, School of Public Health & Tropical Medicine | Matas Library of the Health Sciences, Downtown Campus |
| Agnieszka Czeblakow | Primary Source Literacy, Book History, Archives and Archival Research | Tulane University Special Collections |
| Melissa A. Weber | Multidisciplinary, Primary Source Literacy | Tulane University Special Collections - Hogan Archive of New Orleans Music and New Orleans Jazz |
| Sean Knowlton | Digital Scholarship | Digital Scholarship & Initiatives |
| The Latin American Library | Latin American Studies (all disciplines), Spanish & Portuguese | The Latin American Library |
| Turchin Business Library | Business | Turchin Business Library |
| Chloe Raub | Primary Source Literacy, Archives and Archival Research, Women’s and Gender History, and Gender and Sexuality Studies | Newcomb Archives and Vorhoff Collection |
To request library instruction from one of our Scholarly Engagement instructors, visit the following form: Library Instruction Request: Scholarly Engagement Department.
To request instruction from Latin American Library instructors, contact LAL@tulane.edu. For more information on the LAL instruction program, visit Teach with The Latin American Library.
To request instruction from the Health Science instructors, contact medref@tulane.edu. For more information on the Matas Health Sciences instruction program, visit Education Services.
To request instruction from Tulane University Special Collections (TUSC) instructors, visit the following link: Teaching with Special Collections. For more information on TUSC, visit their website.
To request instruction on topics in digital scholarship, visit the following form: Library Instruction Request: Topics in Digital Scholarship.
To request instruction from the Business Librarian, contact turchin@tulane.edu
To request instruction from the Newcomb Archives and Vorhoff Collection, contact craub1@tulane.edu
Interested in asynchronous learning materials? Check out our video tutorials.
Instruction Librarians are committed to provided excellent service! To do so, we collect data before and after instruction sessions that helps us continually elevate our practice. Please give your students the following survey before each instruction session: Pre-Learning Survey (Course Instruction). Collected data will not be shared outside of the library.