Library Guides: Epidemiology Research Guide: Data & statistics

U.S. Data & Statistics

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US.

PolicyMap Primary DataSources
Demograhics, Income & Spending, Economy, Education, Health, Federal Guidelines, Analytics

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ offers robust data sources that may be of interest to researchers, clinicians, purchasers, policymakers, or consumers.
CDC - Data & Stats by Topic
From the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention. Data & Statistics by Topic, Tools & resources
CDC - Surveys and Data Collection Systems
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), National Health Care Surveys, National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), National Vital Statistics System (NVSS), National Survey of Family Growth, State and Local Area Integrated Telephone Survey (SLAITS), National Immunization Survey.
CDC-Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system. Compare prevalence of variables across states or years. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR) - U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)
A digital collection of public use datasets for occupational and environmental health studies of workers at DOE facilities and nearby community residents. Create account to download data. From the US Department of Energy (DOE).
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps (CHR&R)
Program of the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute
more...less...
Effective August 31, 2017, Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) will no longer be supported, but CHR&R will now allow nationwide comparison of counties with similar populations based on key demographic, social, and economic indicators. This important collaboration allows CHR&R to deliver popular functionality of both CHSI and CHR&R products in one central location.
Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW) Clearinghouse of health indicators data by topic. Free download. Developed by the National Center for Health Statistics

Health Services Research Information Central (HSRIC) This link opens in a new window
Information for health services research community. Databases/repositories , health statistics, surveys and tools, glossaries, guidelines, HSR Core Library recommendations, journals, links to journal article databases, newsletters, and reports and other publications. From the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology.

Active Living Research
A range of tools and resources to help practitioners, policy-makers, and advocates create more activity-friendly environments. Developed by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
DEA File Download
The Drug Enforcement Agency is the database owner for the DEA Controlled Substances Act Registration Information Databases.
HINTS: Health Information National Trends Survey
HINTS collects nationally representative data about the use of cancer-related information, including: changing patterns, needs, and information opportunities in health, changing communications trends and practices, cancer information access and usage, how cancer risks are perceived. From the National Cancer Institute.
IHME - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
IHME works to identify the best strategies to build a healthier world. By measuring health, tracking program performance, finding ways to maximize health system impact, and developing innovative measurement systems, IHME provides a foundation for informed decision-making that ultimately will lead to better health globally.
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Office of Public Health
Minnesota Population Center - Data Projects Demographic data resources. All MPC data are available free over the internet. Includes international and domestic population surveys, tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files, 1790 - present; annual data on people in the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, 1960s - present; American Time Use Survey, 2003-present; Demographic and Health Surveys, 1980s-present; integrated data on population and the environment, 1960- present.
NACCHO - Toolbox
Free, online collection of local public health tools produced by members of the public health community. Current examples of tools include, but are not limited to case examples, presentations, fact sheets, drills, evaluations, protocols, templates, reports, and training materials.
National Academy of Sciences. Committee on Population
Knowledge and methods of the population sciences to bear on major issues of science and public policy.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Bureau associates concentrate on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the economic effects of public policies, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
National College Health Assessment (NCHA)
The ACHA-National College Health Assessment (NCHA) is a nationally recognized research survey which collects precise data about students health habits, behaviors, and perceptions
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) - Statistics
Mental disorders in America
Pew Research Center
Produces reports that explore the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
SAMHSA Data - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Emergency Department Data / DAWN
Substance Abuse Facilities Data / NSSATS
Mental Health Facilities Data / NMHSS
Client Level Data / TEDS
Population Data / NSDUH
Online Analysis & Public Use Files / SAMHDA
SAMHSA Data Archive (pre-2010 data)
State Cancer Profiles
Statehealthfacts.org
Statehealthfacts.org is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states. Data on 700+ health topics.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
National Surveys on Drug Use and Health, reports, download datasets
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Data & Statistics
Health Center Program GeoCare Navigator
GeoCare Navigator (HCP)- Geographic extent of U.S. federally (Section 330)-funded health centers. Requires free registration. - HSRA
USA.gov -- Data and Statistics – General Reference Resources
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System
CDC’s Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors priority health behaviors and experiences among high school students across the country

International Data & Statistics

DataFinder - Population Reference Bureau
Search hundreds of indicators, thousands of locations, and easily create custom reports to print, download, and share. Includes US and World data.

SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The DHS program, a part of US AID, has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in 90+ countries.
DHS Program Model Data Sets (USAID)
The DHS Program has created model datasets so users can become familiar with datasets without having to register for access. These datasets have been created strictly for practice and do not represent any country's actual data. Model datasets are based on the DHS 6 Questionnaire and Recode.
Eldis - Gateway to information on developing countries
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. Content from Eldis is available for re-use under a Creative Commns license.
Gapminder
Interactive graphical presentations of data on world development
Global Health and Human Rights Database
A free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights. With the collaboration of a worldwide network of partners—including NGOs, academics and private researchers—the database offers an interactive, searchable, and fully indexed website of case law, national constitutions and international instruments.
WHO - Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. Previously called WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS).
HealthMap - Global Diseases Alert
HealthMap brings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)
Spatial Data Repository
The Spatial Data Repository provides geographically-linked health and demographic data from the MEASURE Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) project and the U.S. Census Bureau for mapping in a geographic information system (GIS).
United Nations Statistics Division
The Statistics Division compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates in specialized fields of statistics. Free access is provided to country specific population data
WHO - Global Health Observatory (GHO) data
From the World Health Organization - Data repository, World health statistics report, Statistical reports, Country statistics, Map gallery, WHO indicator registry
World Bank - Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
World Bank - World DataBank
Analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Bank Group Data and Statistics
Provides data derived, either directly or indirectly, from official statistical systems organized and financed by national governments. Click on Data by Topic to find several options, including health.

Population Data

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
The Data Center
A trusted resource for data on Southeast Louisiana to include disaster recovery, regional economic analysis, workforce development, racial disparity indicators, blight reduction, affordable housing, and coastal population movements.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The DHS program, a part of US AID, has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in 90+ countries.
Louisiana Health Report Card
The intent of the Parish Health Profiles is to provide information that will support data driven planning and implementation of health policies and interventions to improve health outcomes for Louisiana and its communities. This site allows you to access the entire Parish Health Profile documents, as well as the data sets for each parish.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD): National Institute of Justice
Pew Research Center: Older Adults (topics)
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends ...
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
The USDA provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults

Data visualization

PolicyMap
Trial through May, 2017

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.

Instructions for using Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference

SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.

Community Health Assessments

Louisiana state and local data

Community Health Rankings & Roadmaps: Explore Health Rankings
The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work, and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities.
DataDriven New Orleans
The City of New Orleans' approach to managing data, publishing data, and using data. Includes open data, an inventory of data sets, maps and visualizations, and more.
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Office of Public Health
Louisiana State Census Data Center
The State Data Centers (SDCs) are official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics, and redistricting data produced by the Census Bureau.
Louisiana Department of Health State Center for Health Statistics
Current Vital Statistics and links to archived Health Report Card, the Vital Statistics Report, the Health at a Glance Poster and the Louisiana Hospital Inpatient Discharge Database (LAHIDD) Report. Text versions of most of the data tables in these publications may be found in the Vital Statistics Data Tables.
Louisiana Public Health Institute
(504) 301-9800
The Data Center
A trusted resource for data on Southeast Louisiana to include disaster recovery, regional economic analysis, workforce development, racial disparity indicators, blight reduction, affordable housing, and coastal population movements.
City of New Orleans Health Data: Data and Publications
Healthy Lifetsyles in New Orleans: New Orleans Health Department
2013
" I Don't Know Where To Go": Latino Community Health Issues in New Orleans
A survey report by Puentes New Orleans, the Committee for a Better New Orleans and
the New Orleans Health Department
New Orleans Community Health Improvement Report
2013
Louisiana Parish Health Profiles
The intent of the Parish Health Profiles is to provide information that will support data driven planning and implementation of health policies and interventions to improve health outcomes for Louisiana and its communities. This site allows you to access the entire Parish Health Profile documents, as well as the data sets for each parish.
Louisiana Department of Health State Center for Health Statistics
Current Vital Statistics and links to archived Health Report Card, the Vital Statistics Report, the Health at a Glance Poster and the Louisiana Hospital Inpatient Discharge Database (LAHIDD) Report. Text versions of most of the data tables in these publications may be found in the Vital Statistics Data Tables.
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals - Office of Public Health

The Data Center (Formerly Greater New Orleans Community Data Center)

The Data Center
A trusted resource for data on Southeast Louisiana to include disaster recovery, regional economic analysis, workforce development, racial disparity indicators, blight reduction, affordable housing, and coastal population movements.

Health Insurance

The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP). The CPS ASEC collects health insurance data on an annual basis at the national and state level geographies. The ACS collects data on an annual basis for the nation, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, every congressional district and all counties, places and metropolitan areas with populations of 65,000 or more. The SIPP collects longitudinal health insurance data at the national level of geography.

Search in the American Community Survey, providing your topic in the search box.

Census.gov - Health Insurance he Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
Health Insurance Coverage: American.Fact Finder: U.S. Census
Use the Advanced Search feature to narrow search by topic and state
Health Insurance Statistics: CDC
Health Insurance Coverage: CDC Fast Facts
Notice the More Data feature
National Health Interview Survey: Health Insurance Coverage
Report
Health Insurance Coverage in the United States 2013
Report: issued September 2014
Lack of Health Insurance: United States
American's Health Rankings/United Health Foundation