Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
Digital access to: a+t magazine (numbers 12, 13, 29 - present issue), books edited by a+t, and digital card packs. Publications are bilingual (English/Spanish). NOTE: Tulane access to A+t is not available via mobile telephone devices
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
Centralized open-profile database that includes financial information for over 14 million companies across Europe with a focus on private company information.
New
Access thousands of audio and video recordings preserved and digitized by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in collaboration with WGBH and the Library of Congress. Over 68,000 media items representing 40,000 hours of radio and television are available to researchers.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
Access nearly 100,000 professional, high-quality images covering architecture, urban design, archaeological sites, landscapes, gardens, and works of art. Tulane owns Base, Modules 1-12 plus Art Module A&B. Click or discover to browse/explore or do a simple search. No login required.
New
ProQuest's Artforum Archive offers electronic access to the backfile of Artforum magazine (later Artforum International), the premier magazine for international contemporary art, from its first issue in 1962 to 2020. Artforum has covered the full range of contemporary art in all media from painting, sculpture, and installation, through to body art, video/audio art, and performance art. It also covers adjacent cultural forms such as architecture, film, fashion, photography, and music. The content is digitized as full-page, color images, with searchable text.
New
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). It is particularly useful for locating scholarship produced outside the United States.
  • Open Access (OA) resource
New
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. rticles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content.
New
The Black Life in America collection covers topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination, and activism and protest movements. It covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
A resource for the study and practice of architectural design. Based on Birkhäuser's high international standing in professional architecture books, it contains the knowledge of leading experts in their fields and offers quality technical illustrations. All content was written and selected by internationally renowned authors in architectural design.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
The new, combined platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content.
Trial
A unique collection of digitized historical film magazines from the 1910s to the 1970s, providing students and researchers with easy access to rare and previously dispersed sources documenting the cinematographic history of the largest country in Latin America.
New
Colonial America is a unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government reflecting aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world. The Tulane University Library subscription includes Module I (Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries) and Module II (Towards Revolution).
New
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
  • Open Access (OA) resource
New
The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
Trial
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Trial
This primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
Trial
This primary source collection documents the history of theater in Latin America and the Caribbean, with a special focus on Revolutionary Cuba. In addition, there are files about countries on other continents, such as the Soviet Union, the United States (with a focus on Latino and Chicano theater), and various countries in Europe and Africa. The collection covers theater groups, festivals, performances, and persons (actors, playwrights, directors). The collection is scanned from the so-called “vertical archive” at Casa de las Américas in Havana, Cuba.
  • Open Access (OA) resource
New
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Starting in July, 2019, this new portal is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.
New
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)—representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco—has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity.
New
Digital Theatre + (DT+) is an educational platform for English and the Performing Arts, providing access to over 600 theatre productions and related educational resources. The site includes over 300 classic, contemporary and international productions (many exclusive to DT+) and over 230 exclusive interviews exploring the dramatic, technical theatre-making process, as well as experimental, post-dramatic and applied theatre. The platform also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques.
New
ProQuest's (formerly Lexis-Nexis) comprehensive resource for federal legislative materials and detailed information on members of Congress. Includes Serial Set and U.S. Congressional Hearings.
New
Duke University Press is an academic publisher and university press affiliated with Duke University. It publishes books and academic journals, as well as maintains electronic collections
New
Film Platform Streaming serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing students and professors the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. Tulane's subscription presents a limited number of films specific to the university and includes all films that the school has access to for streaming.
New
The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistant’s, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions). Tulane University affiliates and visitors to Tulane have been graciously offered access to this resource. Please login by creating an account using your Tulane email ID. You will be asked to create a password for this resource.

NOTE: If you have Tulane affiliate email you can register to view testimonies from the Archive. Registration is required to view the testimonies. See this link
https://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/research/search-the-archive/
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
Foundation Directory Online is research tool for online funding research to connect grantmakers to grantseekers.
New
The Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index is an archive of indexed art history journals. Covering Western European and American fine arts and some decorative arts, it indexes prominent international art history periodicals from the mid-1850s through the 1960s.
Trial
Spanning more than four hundred years, The Guatemala Collection: Government and Church Documents for Sacatepéquez (1587-1991) concentrates primarily on the national era, particularly 1824-1948. The vast majority of the documents—correspondence, annual reports, statistics, letters, litigation—found within The Guatemala Collection are copies from the Archivo General de Centroamérica and the Archivo Histórico Arquidiocesano “Francisco de Paula García Peláez” (formerly known as Archivo Eclesiástico de Guatemala) in Guatemala City. In recent years, the latter has seldom been opened to the public. Colonial documents mainly come from the Archivo General de Indias in Seville, Spain. A few of the documents and transcripts come from the Centro de Investigaciones Regionales de Mesoamérica (CIRMA) in Antigua. In general, the documents are organized by place, theme, and chronology.
New
This collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. NOTE- Users must subscribe to HeinOnline's Law Journal Library in order to access scholarly article content.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
A partnership of academic & research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Note: not all titles are available as full-text.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
New
The International African Bibliography Online (IABO) is a leading specialist bibliography of African Studies. It already contains 140.000 entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2017 with new entries added every year. The IABO can be browsed by categories and offers detailed search options.
New
The International Documentation of Electroacoustic Music (EMDoku) is an extensive online database, which contains detailed information on 52.000 works of electroacoustic music, 11.700 authors as well as media (CD, DVD, tape, etc.), labels and studios.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
New
Brahms (IRCAM-Brahms) is an encyclopedic database of contemporary composers. Each dossier includes a biography, a full catalogue of the composer’s works (making it possible to search by a specific formation), bibliographic references, and information concerning recordings. Other documents can also be found on this database: program notes, interviews with the composers, links to audio or video files of the work. For major figures of contemporary music, the database offers "Parcours" that include critical texts to introduce the artist’s aesthetic as well as keys to understanding the composer’s oeuvre.
New
This resource (provided via complimentary access by HeinOnline) is the product of The President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992 which directed the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) to create a collection consisting of all U.S. government documents relating to the 1963 assassination of President John F. Kennedy, including any state or local law enforcement materials. The collection consists of over 50,000 documents, including more than 18,000 additional documents with the latest release in April 2018, and now totals over 5 million pages. The resource also includes books, hearings, other related works, and scholarly articles on this topic.
New
The Journal of Portfolio Management (Portfolio Management Research, formerly II Journals) is a provider of independent financial research for all within the investment sector. This platform provides researchers with access to a full research portfolio, consisting of 13 portfolio management titles. Within each title can be found articles that cover the research necessary to enhance investment strategies and drive growth for any business
New
Kubikat is the collective catalogue of four of the leading German scholarly research institutes in the field of art history; Bibliotheca Hertziana, the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich and the Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte in Paris.
Trial
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
New
Latin American News Digest aggregates the news of the Latin American media to provide a wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans.
New
The MedOne Radiology resource provides access to Thieme’s radiology collection including their E-Books, E-Journals, RadCases, and media materials.
New
Medtrack’s integrated platform offers insights into pharmaceutical pipelines, sales, company financials, epidemiology, patents and more, to give you a comprehensive view of the biopharmaceutical business landscape. NOTE: Please enter your email to log in to Medtrack One View. If you have not logged in to Medtrack with this email before, you will be prompted one time to provide additional information (name and email).
New
The MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. Individual users can access Handbook Plus from any location after setting up an account while on their institution’s network. To do so, visit the site while on your institution’s network and click the Register button at the top right. You’ll be prompted to complete a short form and select a password. Once you’ve created an account, use the Sign In button at the top right to access your account, including any searches you’ve saved. You will be asked to re-authenticate the account every ninety days. There’s a time limit to individual access. You’ll have off-network access to Handbook Plus for ninety days from the date you register. To extend your access, log in to your account while on your institution’s network.
New
Music-in-Print is a bibliographic collection of musical scores in print. Included are secular choral music, sacred choral music, organ music, classical vocal music, orchestral music, string music, classical guitar, woodwind, piano, film scores and miscellaneous other musical styles and forms.
New
Musical America provides the digital and print touchpoints for performing arts professionals to reach out to each other to further their art and their businesses. It includes In-depth coverage of performing arts industry news; special reports into the key issues and solutions driving the performing arts industry; extensive databases with critical information covering the international landscape of performing artists, facilities, managers, presenters, schools, media, services and organizations; blogs from industry experts exploring the crucial questions faced by businesses and performers; the latest changes to managers’ rosters; and news directly from industry groups and organizations through the Press Releases section.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
  • television
New
OnArchitecture is an audiovisual archive of architecture online, founded in 2012 by Chilean architects Felipe De Ferrari and Diego Grass along with psychologist Claudio Mesa. It offers a deep and detailed panorama of the world’s main authors, works, experiences and issues related to the field of architecture.
New
The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable with coverage 2008 to recent (3 month embargo). For the most current online issues of The New York Times Online visit the following link to create an easy access, online Academic Pass--- The New York Times Online for the Tulane Community- https://library.tulane.edu/news/new-york-times-online-tulane-community
New
The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent Washington Post content. Every page is full-text searchable with coverage 2008 to recent (3 month embargo).
Trial
Co-founded by music legend Quincy Jones and jazz impresario and producer Reza Ackbaraly, Qwest TV is a streaming video platform dedicated to jazz and related music concerts and documentaries.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
Sourced from Amistad Research Center, this primary source collections features content from the Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, that investigated problem areas in race relations and developed methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
An online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology Online (Stahl Online) is a web-based service that features the full text and all the illustrations from the latest editions of Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology, The Prescriber’s Guide, Case Studies, Self-Assessment Examination, all the books from the Stahl’s Illustrated Series, and other books authored and co-authored by Dr Stahl, searchable across the same platform
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
New
***NOTE: You will need to create a user account and profile using your Tulane email address to access this database.***
S&P Global Market Intelligence (formerly SNL Financial) combines analysis and in-depth data in real time for selected sectors and industries in the U.S. and worldwide. This resource collects relevant corporate, financial, market and M&A data plus news and analysis organizing this information by sector. Tulane’s S&P Global Market Intelligence subscription includes information on the following sectors: banking, specialized financial services, insurance, real estate, energy, media/communications, and metals/mining.
  • Tulane-subscribed resource. Login required from off-campus.
  • movie
New Popular
Delivers movies with unlimited access to stream full-length feature films including some top new releases, classics, documentaries and foreign films both on and off campus.
Trial
Thieme Dissector is a richly-illustrated and detailed three-volume manual for guiding students and teachers in the dissection lab. It is enriched with intricate illustrations of the human anatomy created from the clinician's perspective. These illustrations and the carefully-researched and structured text elucidate the layer by layer dissection of each region of the human body in a step-wise manner. In addition, the volumes also provide access to over 200 videos on the Thieme Dissector online platform to further facilitate comprehension
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.