Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

SPHTM Faculty Guide: About

A guide to important information resources for SPHTM faculty

About the Matas Library

The Rudolph Matas Library serves as the primary resource library for the Tulane University Health Sciences Center comprising the School of Medicine, the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, Tulane’s Hospitals & Clinics.and the Tulane National Primate Research Center. The library supports the teaching, research, and patient care functions of the health sciences programs through the acquisition, organization and dissemination of biomedical information.

The origin of the Tulane Medical Library dates from the founding of the Medical College of Louisiana (now Tulane University School of Medicine) in 1834. First mention of the Library occurred in the faculty minutes of the College in 1844. .

Who was Rudolph Matas? 

In 1895, Dr. Rudolph Matas began his long history of support of the Library, devoting much of his energy and fortune to the expansion of its collections and services, for the benefit of students and faculty at his alma mater and medical practitioners everywhere. The Library was named in his honor in 1937. He is known for these achievements

  • “Father of Vascular Surgery”
  • Graduated from medical school at 19
  • Introduced the suture for the cure of aneurysm
  • Lost an eye to gonococcal keratoconjunctivitis…which he contracted during surgery
  • Tulane professor > 42 years

Circulation at the Information Services Desk

Users may also contact the Library Information Desk for assistance at (504) 988-2403 or medcirc@tulane.edu.

BORROWING PRIVILEGES
Tulane Health Sciences faculty, students and staff have borrowing privileges. These privileges also extend to the faculty, students and staff of the university (uptown campus), and LSU Medical Center faculty and graduate level students. Loan periods are the same for all users.

BORROWING PERIODS
Journals: 7 days
Study Guides / Matas Commons: 7 days
Reserve Materials: 2 hours; overnight 2 hours before closing, due 1 hour after opening the next day
Stacks Books: 28 days; 3 renewals allowed
Laptops, Headphones, Portable Standing Desks: 6 hours
CDs & DVDs: 28 days, unless specified on reserve (2 hours) or high use (2 hours)

Renewals are available as long as Holds or Recalls have not been requested. If materials become overdue, the renewals may be restricted, as well. Please contact the information desk if your materials become overdue. 

Please note that materials placed on Reserve for class use may be recalled at anytime from users.

Request Purchases

Collection Development

The scope of the collection of the Rudolph Matas Library of Tulane Health Sciences Center is shaped by the library's mission and the needs of its patons. The library collects current scholarly information which supports the research, clinical, administrative and educational needs of its patrons. The collection covers public health and related disciplines, the practice of medicine and related biomedical research literature, methodological literature, and in-depth, authoritative analyzes of areas influencing biomedicine and health care. The collection is predominantly English.

The subject emphases of the collection reflect past and present research interests at Tulane. Basic collections are also maintained in related disciplines and cross-disciplinary areas. Through cooperative networks, the library ensures access to literature not owned by the library.

The Matas Library of the Health Sciences retains some older materials of medical and historical importance, even when they are no longer of use in clinical practice. However, the Tulane collection does not currently encompass current scholarship in medical history..

Help us Collect!

It is a goal to keep and establish a clear channel of communication between faculty and librarians through the library liaison program.  Please let your library liaison know what books and journals you need.

Format

Journals are purchased in electronic format when/if available. Books are purchased in print or electronic format dependent on user preference, availability and cost.

 

Visit Us!

We are located on Tulane's Health Sciences downtown campus on the second floor of 1430 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA, directly across from Tulane University Hospital and Clinic.

There is pay parking on the street or in garages. You may park in either of the two hospital garages. The Library is connected to the hospital by a crosswalk that links to the 2nd floor of 1430 Tulane Avenue where the Library is located. The hospital address is: 1415 Tulane Ave. One garage entrance is on LaSalle Street and the other Saratoga Street. The garages are both connected to the TUHSC by bridges and there is signage to direct you.

Please enter the building from the Tulane Avenue ground level entrance. The Hutchinson Building is restricted to Tulane users by card access on nights and weekends. All side and bridge entrances require cards. Visitors from the public should make an appointment for history collection usage. Visitors should plan to come weekdays between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.

There is public pay parking on the street. There is card access on the second floor bridge. Visitors should enter on the street level and check in with the security desk.

Online Learners and Interlibrary Loan

We can scan our print material and either send the document as an attachment, or ask you to sign in to ILLiad to retrieve it under “View/Download Electronic Articles”.

If you need a specific book chapter, we can scan a limited number of book pages for you.

We can ship our books to you, but we can not borrow a book from another library and ship it.

Interlibrary loan Services at Matas Library

Our Interlibrary loan service obtains journal articles and books which are unavailable through the Matas Library for Tulane Health Sciences students, faculty and staff. Log into your interlibrary loan account with your Tulane technology account (email username and password) to request documents. Look for the   icon on articles to see the option to request articles from interlibrary loan when content is not available online. 

Tips:

  • Log in with your Tulane Credentials (email user name and password)
  • First time logging in? You will be prompted to fill out some required fields and agree to terms of use.
  • If you request a book the Library that has in print, you will be notified via email that the request will be canceled.
  • We only borrow books or journals from other libraries within the United States.
  • You can request a journal article, a book or other materials using your interlibrary loan online account. Fill out the form with the request information. Include the PMID number from PubMed if available. If an article does not have a PMID or UI from PubMed, record the database where the item was located in the Notes field.
  • Requests are usually processed the same day they are submitted. Turn around time for documents is about 1-2 days, unless an item is difficult to find. Books usually take about a week.
  • Documents are available from the interlibrary loan online account. You will receive an email notifying you that the document is available for download. Login to your account and scroll to “View/Download Electronic Articles”.
  • Documents will be in pdf format and remain in ILLiad for 30 days. If you accidently delete a document please notify the office.
  • This is a free service, with some exceptions due to copyright .
  • Call 504-988-2413 for RUSH articles for patient care.

Contact the Interlibrary Loan department at (504) 988-5156 or email medlib@tulane.edu.

Library Liaison

Elaine Hicks's picture
Elaine Hicks
Contact:
ehicks2@tulane.edu
504-812-4563
Website Skype Contact: elaine_hicks
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.