Skip to main content Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Emerging Scholars Instructional Website: A Guide

This website provides weekly instructional guidance for Emerging Scholars

Overview

This page aims to help you find appropriate sources for your research.  You will learn the difference between Google and Library searches, types of academic sources, when to use these different sources, and how to cite them.  

Understanding source types

Often the format of an source provides clues on the type and quality of the information. Format can be an indicator of the author's intended audience, and is often associated with a typical style of writing and presenting evidence.

                                                 

Finding Sources

Aimed at the nonspecialist reader interested in health and medicinal issues, the Encyclopedia examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries. appropriate for upper class high school and university students, professionals and the general public. 

This Encyclopedia of aquatic ecotoxicology reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation. 

This ecyclopedia ddresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide.

 

Scholars communicate via peer-reviewed journal articles and scholarly monographs (books). Books take longer to research, write, and publish while journal articles are shorter and slightly faster to publish. Books offer more thorough coverage of a topic, draw on a wider range of preexisting scholarship, and often excel in placing an argument in broader thematic and disciplinary context.

Consider a scholarly book in your own research, and look for the following:

  • Helpful introduction and overview of the topic;
  • Comprehensive literature review, outlining the major scholars and existing points of view on the topic;
  • Detailed study of the topic, usually broken down into manageable chapters;
  • Extensive bibliography to help you and other scholars find related works on the topic. 

Browsing the stacks:

H: Social Sciences
HQ: The Family. Marriage. Women

HQ12-449: Sexual life 
HQ1075-1075.5: Sex Role

HQ1088-1090.7: Men 
HQ1101-2030.7: Women. Feminism

Citing sources

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.