During the COVID-19 public health crisis, several platforms, publishers, and licensors are allowing for expanded access to their content. This guide was designed to help students and faculty working from home take advantage of these limited-time opportunities. Please keep in mind that many platforms will still require you to log in via institution to access their content. Look for Tulane University when prompted, and sign in using your TU username (or email) and password.
This LibGuide is a work in progress and will be continuously updated. Please forward any information you may receive about additional offers to the owner of this page, Will Judson (wjudson@tulane.edu).
Annual Reviews Journals are available with no restrictions for an extended period.
Cairn, a French-language platform, is offering free access to all encyclopedias and pocket encyclopedias for an extended period.
Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center was created in response to the present epidemic. The latest papers on COVID-19 and nearly 20,000 relevant articles are free to access indefinitely.
Emerald Publishing is offering free access to a number of viral epidemiology research articles. Click here for a link to the search page.
Emerald is also offering a free Covid-19 support pack "to help maintain your physical and emotional wellbeing." The page links to articles on subjects like working from home and making decisions during a crisis.
The Geological Society of America's ebooks are free to access on GeoScienceWorld for an extended period. Click here to browse the collection.
Guilford's periodicals will be open access through 9/30. This is their announcement:
In March, Guilford opened access and made all our journal content free, enabling library patrons to access our content from any location.
We have decided that we will extend the free access to all our journal content through September 30.
Guilford is committed to giving libraries support for providing remote access.
- Our journals website supports remote access for libraries with Proxy IP.
- We are set up to provide Shibboleth access for members of many Shibboleth federations.
- Our website supports Universal CASA-based access.
- We provide Guilford Journals Mobile whereby all journal content can be accessed on patrons’ mobile devices. Once a device is associated with an institution, it is paired automatically, providing patrons with 24/7 access from any location.
Guilford Journals is not increasing subscription prices for 2021 in response to the ongoing financial challenges libraries are facing.
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers has made articles related to the current public health crisis on their IEEE Xplore platform freely accessible.
IEEE realizes that many are directly or indirectly engaged in the fight against COVID-19 and its effects on global health and safety, research, infrastructure, communications, and more. IEEE has identified articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore Digital Library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it.
All content in this collection is now free to access, with additional rights for all types of reuse, including full text and data mining, and analysis. We are continually monitoring the developments and will update the IEEE Xplore content periodically. Thank you for your support of our shared mission to advance technology for humanity.
Please remember that Tulane has a subscription to the entire IEEE Xplore Digital Library -- click here to access it via OpenAthens.
To support libraries, faculty, and students with online research and instruction during COVID-19, we have worked with our publishing partners to extend many of our expanded access programs.
Through August 31, 2020:
- Books expanded access program, including over 32,000 ebooks from 48 publishers, available at no charge for participating academic institutions and secondary schools.
Through December 31, 2020:
- Full archive expanded access program We will automatically extend your institution's access to all Arts & Science Collections, Thematic Collections, and Primary Source Collections not currently licensed at no additional charge; please let us know if you would like to end it prior to December 31.
- Browser pairing
- Freely accessible Public Health journals, newly added in March 2020
- Freely accessible coronavirus-related books and journal articles
- Free online reading expanded to 100 articles per month
- Remote access enablement to JSTOR and Artstor upon request for public library participants
Participating academic institutions and secondary schools can still request expanded access.
They have also compiled a special COVID-19 resources page that outlines these offers.
For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank (https://kb.osu.edu/).
