Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Expanded Access by Publisher for COVID-19

About

About

During the COVID-19 public health crisis, several platforms, publishers, and licensors are allowing for expanded access to their content. This guide was designed to help students and faculty working from home take advantage of these limited-time opportunities. Please keep in mind that many platforms will still require you to log in via institution to access their content. Look for Tulane University when prompted, and sign in using your TU username (or email) and password.

 

This LibGuide is a work in progress and will be continuously updated. Please forward any information you may receive about additional offers to the owner of this page, Will Judson (wjudson@tulane.edu).

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews Journals

Annual Reviews Journals are available with no restrictions until 15 June 2020.

Cairn

Cairn.info

Cairn, a French-language platform, is offering free access to all encyclopedias and pocket encyclopedias through 6/30.

Cambridge University Press

CUP

Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online during the coronavirus outbreak. Over 700 textbooks, published and currently available, on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020. https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks; existing Cambridge Core customers can request free access to a collection of reference works for libraries during the same period, including all of the Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements. Existing customers should contact their regular library sales representative to make a request.

Digitalia

Digitalia Hispanica

Digitalia Hispanica is offering one month of free access to universities. Click here to browse the collection through Tulane.

EBSCO

EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing

 EBSCO eBooks and Harvard Business Publishing are offering free access to their collection through May.

As universities shift quickly to online instruction, librarians have a key role to play in supporting faculty and students. In order to help in these challenging times, EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing are pleased to offer libraries free unlimited user access to the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection until May 30, 2020.
 
This ground-breaking collection contains the complete catalog of Harvard Business Review e-books.  With over 600 e-books that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series, faculty will be available to quickly provide relevant digital materials for their students.
 
Gain immediate access for your students and faculty today by contacting your local EBSCO representative.

Elsevier

Elsevier and ScienceDirect

Elsevier's Novel Coronavirus Information Center was created in response to the present epidemic. The latest papers on COVID-19 and nearly 20,000 relevant articles are free to access indefinitely.

Emerald Publishing

Emerald Insight

Emerald Publishing is offering free access to a number of viral epidemiology research articles. Click here for a link to the search page.

Emerald is also offering a free Covid-19 support pack "to help maintain your physical and emotional wellbeing." The page links to articles on subjects like working from home and making decisions during a crisis.

GeoScienceWorld

GSW

The Geological Society of America's ebooks are free to access on GeoScienceWorld until July 1st. Click here to browse the collection.

IEEE

IEEE Xplore

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers has made articles related to the current public health crisis on their IEEE Xplore platform freely accessible.

IEEE realizes that many are directly or indirectly engaged in the fight against COVID-19 and its effects on global health and safety, research, infrastructure, communications, and more. IEEE has identified articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore Digital Library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it.

All content in this collection is now free to access, with additional rights for all types of reuse, including full text and data mining, and analysis. We are continually monitoring the developments and will update the IEEE Xplore content periodically. Thank you for your support of our shared mission to advance technology for humanity.

Please remember that Tulane has a subscription to the entire IEEE Xplore Digital Library -- click here to access it via OpenAthens.

JoVE

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)

JoVE's educational video articles -- visualizations of cutting-edge lab experiments -- are free to watch until June 15th. They have also compiled a number of coronavirus-specific resources. Search their video library here. Log in via Shibboleth using your Tulane credentials when prompted.

JSTOR

JSTOR

In addition to expanding access to institutions that were not previously paying for a complete licensing package, JSTOR has also made the following announcement:

We are continuing to work on ways to improve access to JSTOR for students and faculty who've been displaced due to COVID-19. Following our recent announcement about expanded access to books and journals on JSTOR, we wanted to share with you a few additional updates:

  • We have released 26 archive journals in Public Health, which are openly available to everyone through June 30th.
  • We continue to see incredible support from our participating publishers. To date, 44 publishers have agreed to make more than 30,000 books freely available to libraries through June 30th. Publishers that joined this week include Yale University Press, Columbia University Press, and the African Books Collective. If you are interested in access to these ebooks as well as journals and primary sources you may not yet subscribe to, please submit a request.
  • We have extended browser pairing on both JSTOR and Artstor. If a user visited either site from their campus network within the last 30 days, their off-campus access from the same browser will be extended through June 30 instead of the normal 30 days.

They have also compiled a special COVID-19 resources page that outlines these offers.

Ohio State University Press

OSUP

For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank (https://kb.osu.edu/).

Springer

Springer Nature

Springer is allowing free access to select publications from its Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Engineering and Computer science libraries through March. Search the collection at https://link.springer.com/.

Please keep in mind the university already has licensed access to the following collections:

 

2019

  • Earth & Environmental Science Library
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics and Statistics Library

 

2020

  • Chemistry & Materials Science Library
  • Behavioral Science
  • Computer Science

Swank

University of Michigan Press

UMP

University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term. Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the UMP EBC until the end of April 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized. Note they will be free-to-read, not to download, during this time. More information is here: https://blog.press.umich.edu/2020/03/ump-covid-19-free-access/

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.