This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Gender & Sexuality Studies Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Gender & Sexuality Studies Research Guide   Tags: gender, history, sexuality, sociology, women's_studies  

Research tools and resources that support students in the Gender and Sexuality Studies program.
Last Updated: Jul 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/ws Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject-specific Databases


The following are databases that specifically cover gender, sexuality and women's issues.  Many other library databases will cover aspects of women's studies within particular disciplines. For databases that contain historical sources, use the Primary Sources tab of this guide.

  • Contemporary Women's Issues  
      
    A selected full-text resource (some material is abstract only) for information about women in over 190 countries. Particularly useful for material relating to current topics in the social sciences disciplines.
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Issues
    Covers from 450 C.E. to 1500 in the area of gender and sexuality.
  • Gender Watch
    A full text database of publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. A repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.
  • Women's Studies International
    Covers women's studies issues, including sociology, medicine, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

General & Interdisciplinary Databases

The following are more general, interdisciplinary databases. If your search terms are not sufficiently specific, you may get a lot of "false returns" or articles only tangentially relevant to your topic.  While they do contain a lot of full text, save these general search tools for when you need to step outside your discipline-specific databases.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Multi-disciplinary database covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
  • Dissertation Abstracts & Digital Dissertations  
      
    Full-text of many dissertations after 1997, citations and/or abstracts prior to 1997.
  • JSTOR
    Full text, scholarly database covering the humanities and social sciences. Diciplines covered include African & African-American studies, business, economics, health policy, and women's studies. JSTOR typically DOES NOT have the most recent 3 to 5 years of the journals in the database.
  • ProjectMuse
    More than 300 online journals mostly for the humanities from Johns Hopkins University Press, Duke University Press and Indiana University Press. Full-text. Most recent years only.
  • Web of Science
    An index to over 8000 highly ranked scientific journals. Perform a traditional search for articles, or conduct a 'cited reference search' to find how many times an article has been cited since being published. Coverage from 1976-present.

Librarian

Profile Image
Jennifer Corbin
Head, Center for
Library User Education
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
504.314.2916
Send Email
What I do in the library:
Teach people to find and evaluate information; select books for Teacher Preparation & Certification Program and for the Gender & Sexuality Studies Program
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip