WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.
A service offering scanning journal articles or a book chapter or less from the library’s circulating print collections and delivering electronically to the faculty’s or student's interlibrary loan account within two business days.
Digital Texts in Religious Studies
These resources can take you to e-books -- some available to Tulane community members, and others that are freely available on the Internet.
A collection of electronic texts representing a wide range of religions, mythologies, and spiritual beliefs, this site is continually updated and expanded.
A digital library compiling links to Latin texts available online, from the earliest sources through the 18th century AD; part of the Forum Romanum Web project.
Includes the Library of Latin Texts Online (Series A & B), the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature, and Monumenta Germaniae Historica, as part of a package of cross-searchable databases provided by the Belgian publisher Brepols. The Library of Latin Texts Online includes Latin works by classical, medieval, and early modern authors, 2nd cent. BCE-17th cent. CE; a significant number of the titles are religious in emphasis. The texts are based on modern scholarly editions, often from standard series such as Sources chrétiennes, the Corpus Christianorum, and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana. The LLT is supplemented by the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature, a full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, 400-1200 AD (a project of the Royal Irish Academy). Monumenta Germaniae Historica is the online version of the massive series of critical editions of source documents for German medieval history, published in print from 1819 and still ongoing; many religious works by German authors are represented.
Over 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
OBSO incorporates six different English-language translations of the Bible in Oxford editions, each with English text, annotations, and commentary, as well as two editions devoted to apocrypha. In addition, a biblical commentary and two concordances are included. The scope is intended to be ecumenical. A complementary collection in OBSO consists of reference sources on the Bible, which are relevant for study of the Bible in a range of disciplines.
Supplementary materials include editor-selected links to external websites; searchable images and maps; an interactive timeline; a glossary; tables; and bibliographies of suggested readings. Searches can be conducted within or across resources (including a “Bible verse look-up”), and browsing is an option. For comparison, different Bible versions, a Bible version and its commentary, or a Bible version and a concordance can be displayed side-by-side on the screen.
In addition to religious studies, OBSO is useful for study and research in multiple disciplines in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, reflecting the Bible’s significance -- in multiple cultures and periods -- as a source of philosophical thinking, political positions, social attitudes, artistic inspiration (in literature, the visual arts, and music), etc.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online and Oxford Islamic Studies Online have retired. Content from Oxford Biblical Studies Online or Oxford Islamic Studies Online has now moved to Oxford Reference, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, or Oxford's What Everyone Needs to Know.
A site providing searchable texts of Bible versions, facilitating comparisons among the King James English, Latin Vulgate, Luther German, and Louis Segond French translations.
A collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the 10th to the 20th century, particularly from the 16th to early 17th centuries. Includes 12 complete Bibles, 5 New Testament works, 2 Gospel works, and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.
Fully searchable online version of the King James, or Authorized Version, 1611 English translation of the Bible, with the full text (of the ‘He’ version), as well as all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies, and tables.
An extensive and frequently consulted collection of digital texts of public-domain books on Christianity, compiled at Calvin College with the aid of a large group of volunteers.
A compilation of public-domain and copy-permitted historical texts, arranged by period and theme, edited by Dr. Paul Halsall. This resource also includes links to a number of other relevant Web sites and digital maps.
Oxford University Press publications
Oxford Scholarship Online makes available the
full text of many key and recent Oxford University Press books. You can search for Oxford e-books by title, author, or ISBN for books that you know about -- or by keyword for topics of interest.
Provides access to the full text of many key and recent Oxford University Press publications in religious studies, including comparative and specific studies covering a range of religions. It also contains book and chapter abstracts.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
