Gender & Sexuality Studies Library Guide

LGBTQ+ Source (fka LGBT Life with Full Text) is the definitive database for LGBT studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBT publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. A collection of 200 videos from the nonprofit organization I’m From Driftwood provides first-person accounts from those in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer community. It also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.

Covers women's studies issues.

The Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas. The collection includes modules on International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 Parts I & II, and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.

This collection of original source material from more than 21 libraries, most in the U.K., supports those studying the history of gender from diverse perspectives. Document and genre types include college records and exam papers; commonplace books; conduct and advice literature; diaries and journals; pedagogical materials; ephemera, government papers; illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion; letters; ledgers and account books; literature; pamphlets; periodicals; receipt books; and travel writing. The collection features many works by well- and lesser-known women writers. Most materials are in English, with a geographic emphasis on Britain and the former British empire.

GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. Offers articles from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Topics inclue sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.

A full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.