Patents & Trademarks
Searchable databases of some of the world's major patent and trademark offices. Tulane Libraries do not collect print copies of patents, but the full-text of many patents are freely available electronically.
Comments (0)
Overview & Background
- Understanding Patents - General Information Concerning PatentsGeneral Information Concerning Patents
- What Are Patents, Trademarks, Service Marks, and Copyrights?
- Patents (Overview)West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. Vol. 7. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2005. p388-397.
- Patent and Trademark OfficeWest's Encyclopedia of American Law. Ed. Shirelle Phelps and Jeffrey Lehman. Vol. 7. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2005.. p387-388
Databases to consider for patent discovery
- Engineering Village - EI PatentsEI Patents comprises millions of patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. This database can be cross-searched with other databases on Engineering Village, retrieving results both from patents and scientific literature.
- LexisNexis AcademicAll U.S. patents full-text back to 1971 and other full-text patent databases and sources
- SciFinder Scholar Use the SciFinder Scholar search features, including the option to search by chemical structure or formula, to search for chemistry-related patents. Software provides links to full-text when available free. Web version requires registration with a tulane.edu email account.
Finding Patents
- Examiner Handbook to the U.S. Patent Classification System
- Patent Searching: Tutorial and Guide to Online Resources and InformationGuide to Patent Searching - University of Texas. Patent Tutorials (Which one is right for you?)
Searching for Patents in Engineering Village
![]()

Cross-search on Engineering Village, retrieving results both from patents and scientific literature. Refine your results by using Patent as a document type.
Help
Subjects: Health Sciences. What I do in the library:: Information Services Department of the Rudolph Matas Library |





Loading...
