Orleans Parish Medical Society, 1878 - - Orleans Parish Medical Society - An Exhibit of Memorabilia and Art in the Rudolph Matas Library: A Guide

Inventory of donation

Inventory of Orleans Parish Medical Society, Memorabilia and Art, Oct. 8, 2010
List includes names of founders and past presidents of the Orleans Parish Medical Society

miracle the timekeeper - print

Framed lithograph by Ed Miracle, Holding time back or The timekeeper, Gift to OPMS by Otto F Apel, III, Oct 26, 1976

Roster of Members 1878-1928

Roster of Membership 1878-1928
Published appendix in: History of the Orleans Parish Medical Society 1878-1928 by A. E. Fossier, Illustrated with Views of Meeting Places and Portraits of Members, Privately Printed, 1930

Images of the Past Presidents and Founders 1878-1999

The Orleans Parish Medical Society began in 1878

Image of Founders from 1878. Partial image of Founders on Display in the Matas Library, April 2012. Gifrt of the Orleans Parish Medical Society.

OPMS -The Daily Picayune- A Year in Review - 1878 - New Orleans, Louisiana
LINK to PDF document about the History of the Orleans Parish Medical Society.

John Churchill Chase - Illustrations

Image used on the cover of Crises, Clashes and Cures, a Century of Medicine in New Orleans

Original illustrations by John Churchill Chase for the John Wilds book, Crises, Clashes and Cures, a Century of Medicine in New Orleans, 1978 are part of the OPMS Memorabilia Collection.

Print Publications in the Matas Library

Orleans Parish Medical Society bulletin. :[New Orleans, Orleans Parish Medical Society]
Matas (Journals Stacks - arranged by title) - Library has: v.1 (1936)-v. 58 (1987); v.59 missing no.6 (1988);v.60 (1989)-v. 62 1990);
v.63:no.1-2 (1992)
Proceedings of the Orleans Parish Medical Society. New Orleans, L. Graham. 1893-1910
Location:Matas (Journals Stacks - arranged by title) - Library has: (1893)-(1909)
History of the Orleans Parish Medical Society 1878-1928, by A. E. Fossier. Illustrated with views of meeting places and portraits of members.
Fossier, A. E. (Albert Emile), b. 1881
Published:[New Orleans] Privately printed, 1930.
Matas (Books Stacks) - Call Number: WZ 1 Or5f 1930
Crises, clashes, and cures : a century of medicine in New Orleans / John Wilds ; ill. by John Chase ; foreword by Charles L. Dufour.
[New Orleans] : Orleans Parish Medical Society, 1978.
Regulations of the Orleans Parish Medical Society. Consitution.
Orleans Parish Medical Society. New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal, v. 6, p. 85-95

Orleans Parish Medical Society - Today

Orleans Parish Medical Society
Contact Information. Orleans Parish Medical Society P.O. Box 26683. New Orleans, LA 70186. P-504-241-8081 F-504-241-8082
About OPMS (facebook)
Includes historical information about the Society.

Documents of OPMS

Regulations of the Orleans Parish Medical Society. Consitution. Orleans Parish Medical Society. New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal, v. 6, (1878) p. 85-95

New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal 1878 p.906
Announcement from 1878. Many announcements and news items were published in the New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal for OPMS during the early years.
Souvenir Program: Concert Given under the Auspices of the Orleans Parish Medical Society -
Jan. 27, 1917.-- .. at the Athenaeum, Includes ads from various health providers, druggists and New Orleans businesses, information on the history of the Socitey and a roster of members
Roster of Members, Corrected to March 31, 1910
Includes membership names and office addresses in New Orleans.
A Tribute to Dr. Ernest S. Lewis - April 24,1922.
By DR. RUDOLPH MATAS On the "Lewis Night" of the Orleans Parish Medical Society, April 24,1922.
Addresses Delivered at the Banquet Given in Honor of Dr. Rudolph Matas
Dec. 20, 1927

Orleans Parish Medical Society records, 1878-1996 | Louisiana Research Collection

Tulane University. Howard Tilton Library. Jones Hall - Louisiana Research Collection has the OPMS Society Records.

Orleans Parish Medical Society records
This collection consists of the business records of the Orleans Parish Medical Society from its origin until the 1996. Included are proceedings, registers of members, account books, correspondence, constitution and by-laws, hospital reports, manuals, certificates, medical cartoons, photographs, and printed materials, which include members' scholarly publications.

Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences

Orleans Parish Medical Society - An Exhibit of Memorabilia and Art in the Rudolph Matas Library: A Guide: Orleans Parish Medical Society, 1878 -