Library Guides: Ophthalmology Library Guide: Databases

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Reviews in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are prepared by authors who register titles with one of 52 Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review Group focuses on a specific topic area and is led by a Coordinating Editor(s) and an editorial team including a Managing Editor and an Information Specialist. The Cochrane Review Groups provide authors with methodological and editorial support to prepare Cochrane Reviews, and manage the editorial process, including peer review. These systematic reviews differ from other types of review in that they adhere to a strict design in order to make them more comprehensive, minimizing the chance of bias, and ensuring reliability. Rather than reflecting the views of the authors, or being based on a partial selection of the literature, (as is the case with many articles and reviews that are not explicitly systematic), they contain all known references to trials on a particular intervention and a comprehensive summary of the available evidence.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories, 1946 - present. Ovid MEDLINE(R), Ovid MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily and Ovid OLDMEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present
OVID This link opens in a new window
Select Ovid Resources- Includes MEDLINE(Ovid); Global Health and Health Star (public health databases), plus full text books and journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.

VisualDx

VisualDX This link opens in a new window
A visual diagnostic decision support system with medical images and information. Create a differential diagnosis for many dermatological conditions. Free mobile app for iDevice & Android.
Mobile install: Launch VisualDx at your institution and click “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device" or "Get Mobile" (top right of page). Then create a personal username and password, download app, launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in.

One-Click VisualDx Mobile Registration
Create personal username and password, download app, launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in

Scholarly Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary full-text general literature Multi-disciplinary database covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Tulane subscribes to current and backfiles of select Annual Reviews titles.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for many journals indexed in CINAHL.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Covers: Full-text of many dissertations after 1997, citations and/or abstracts prior to 1997
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides full text of more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. Good for school health, patient health, pediatric topics. Coverage from 1966-present.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN. NOTE: Use your Web of Science or Endnote username and password or create a new username and password for this database
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited).Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. 1976 - present.
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat This link opens in a new window Holdings from thousands of libraries worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.