Library Guides: News and Newspapers Library Guide: Top Picks in News

Find Newspapers

Tip 1: Looking for a specific newspaper or magazine? Use Library Search and enter the newspaper or magazine title, select "Newspaper" from the drop-down menu, and search. Print and electronic options will be presented when available.

Tip 2: Want to see all news sources from a particular city, state, or country available at Tulane University Libraries? Use Library Search to enter the desired location (e.g. "New York," "Louisiana," or "Brazil") and the keyword Newspapers to your search.

Top Picks

Here are some of our most heavily used databases of historical news coverage. For a more comprehensive list of our historical newspaper collections, select Historical Newspapers -- United States or World -- in the left menu.

Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Portal page to access: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922); The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000); The Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945); Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2003); The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 1988); The Boston Globe‎ (1872 - 1986); Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975); Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1994); The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2004); Cleveland Call & Post‎ (1934 – 1991); Detroit Free Press‎ (1831 - 1922); The Guardian & The Observer‎ (1791 – 2003); The Irish Times & The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016); The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990); The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990); Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2005); Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1994); New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 1993); The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2014); New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922); Norfolk Journal & Guide‎ (1916 - 2003); Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912 - 2001); Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2002); The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950); The Times of India‎ (1838 - 2008); The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 2000) and The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2001).
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Access full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1851. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue from 1851-2017.

Here are some of our most heavily used databases of current national news coverage. For more of the latest news, select Current News from the left menu.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
Access World News - Current This link opens in a new window
Access more than 12,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, communications, economics, education, health, journalism, marketing, politics, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media. Coverage varies by news source, but spans the late 20th century to the present day, with news updated daily.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, and other sources of business and general news, plus company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. Note: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.
E&E News This link opens in a new window
Politico's E&E News resource provides up-to-date journalism on energy and environmental issues that keep professionals informed on the following topics: Air & Water Pollution; Climate Policy & Politics; Congress & Federal Agencies; Corporate Sustainability; Cybersecurity; Electric Utilities Oil, Natural Gas, Coal, Nuclear & Renewables; Public Lands & Endangered Species; Regulations & Legal Actions; Science & Technology Innovation; State Legislation & Issues; and Transportation & Infrastructure.

Our most frequently searched newspaper titles include:

New York Times (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers - Recent) This link opens in a new window
Coverage is 2008 to 30 days before the present date. For the most current online issues of The New York Times Online and a login for the app, visit the following link to create an easy access, online Academic Pass: https://libguides.tulane.edu/news_newspapers/NYTimes

Wall Street Journal
Browse by date or search full text, available 1984 - present.

Times-Picayune Collection: 20th Century (New Orleans) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. Allows you to search and browse full-color scans of the print editions of the Times-Picayune, as well as Web Edition articles published on nola.com.

For additional sources of Louisiana news, both current and historical, select Louisiana News from the left menu.

Times-Picayune Collection: 20th Century (New Orleans) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. Allows you to search and browse full-color scans of the print editions of the Times-Picayune, as well as Web Edition articles published on nola.com.

New Orleans Advocate
Search and browse text of the New Orleans Advocate from 2011 to current issues. This database includes all content published on nola.com.
The Gambit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free alternative weekly newspaper, now part of nola.com.To search the text archive of The Gambit from 2001 to present, use this link. Print holdings from 1980- 2022 are available in the Louisiana Research Collection; use the book icon to view more information.
Louisiana Weekly (New Orleans, La)
- This link opens in a new window
Emphasizes topics of interest to the African American community, especially in the New Orleans area and south Louisiana since 1925. Online archive 2011-. Print holdings available in the Louisiana Research Collection.
New Orleans CityBusiness
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers New Orleans business news, including banking, health care, economic development, commercial real estate, high-tech industries, and community events. Database coverage: 1985 - present (delayed 1 week).