Research Guides Home Page Turchin Business Library Home Page Matas Health Sciences Library Home Page Howard-Tilton Memorial Library Home Page Tulane University Home Page

Admin Sign In 

Latinos in New Orleans & Louisiana  Tags: louisiana latin_america caribbean latino hispanic  

A research guide on the current and historical presence and impact of Latinos in New Orleans
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/latinos_NOLA  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles & More             Print Page
  

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 

Library Catalog

Library Catalog Search

 
 

Databases

  • Chicano Database  
      
    A comprehensive index representing all types of material for information about Latinos/Hispanics in the US. Provides extensive coverage of Mexican Americans from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
  • America: History & Life  
      
    Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • American Census Bureau: Fact Finder  
      
    Major source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
  • Hispanic Population of the United States (US Census Bureau)  
      
    A presentation that highlights past, present and future trends of the Hispanic population in the United States.
  • HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)  
      
    Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
  • HRAF World Cultures  
    A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed.
 

Manuscript Collection

Painter, Norman Wellington (1918- ) Thesis Research Material

1948-1949. Material gathered by Painter in interviews with 68 Latin Americans and used in his 1949 Tulane M.A. thesis, "The Assimilation of Latin Americans in New Orleans". It contains the identity and brief biographical sketch of each respondent, and answers to questions on first impressions, adjustments, work, marriage and children, religion, organizations, friends and recreation, food, prejudice, and nostalgia. 503 pieces.

Collection 52. The Latin American Library Manuscripts Collection.

Thesis: The assimilation of Latin Americans in New Orleans, Louisiana / by Norman Wellington Painter.1949. Sociology
Location: Jones Hall, University Archives (Theses)
Call Number: TT 1949v.12

 

 

Your Reference Librarian

Profile ImageSean Knowlton
Contact Info:
The Latin American Library
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
4th Floor
(504) 247-1870
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Provide research assistance; teach people to find and evaluate information; select materials for the Latin American Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait