This is the "Overview" page of the "INTU 3000" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Nadine Vorhoff Library Newcomb College Institute of Tulane University

INTU 3000  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/kenney Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bea Calvert
Contact Info
Send Email

Case Studies on Women in Organizations

 

About This Guide

This guide will assist you in the course, INTU 3000, taught by Professor Sally J. Kenney, in the Fall 2012. This course engages students in considering the real world dilemmas of women leading organizations to bring about social change. This course will also teach how to write and evaluate the usefulness of cases. 

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • Web of Science
    An interdisciplinary database comprising "Science Citation Index" (1900-present), "Social Sciences Citation Index" (1956-present), and "Arts & Humanities Citation Index" (1975-present).
  • Women's Studies International
    Women's Studies Internationalâ„¢, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
  • Left Index
    Indexes 270 "core" journals with an "emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship". Coverage begins in 1982
  • GenderWatch
    GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 260 titles, with more than 240 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Google Books and Other Sources

Google's is not the only wholesale digitization effort going on. Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance (OCA; http://www.opencontentalliance.org/) The OCA intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection. OCA books will in the future be accessible directly through the OCA website and indexed through Yahoo, but are best browed or searched at present through the "texts" section of the Internet Archive site at http://www.archive.org/details/texts.

There are also projects that attempt to index available e-books. The Digital Book Index (DBI) at http://www.digitalbookindex.org/ has kept up reasonably well with existing projects, and the Online Books Page (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/) links to 25,000 free e-books, but these figures will be dwarfed by the Google and OCA projects.

  • The Celebration of Women Writers
    The Celebration of Women Writers is a project developed in collaboration with the Online Books Page. Women writers' books digitized under the auspices of the project or linked to from the project are also indexed in the Online Books Page. In addition, Celebration of Women Writers links to biographical and bibliographical information about women writers.
  • Open Content Alliance
    Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance, which intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection.
  • Internet Archive
    OCA books are best browed or searched through the "texts" section of the Internet Archives.
  • Digital Book Index
    The Digital Book Index has kept up reasonably well with existing projects - as of this writing it has indexed 130,000 books, of which 90,000 are freely accessible.
  • Online Books Page
    The Online Books Page links to over 1 million free e-books and is updated frequently.

Resource Suggestions

Select Submit to suggest a helpful link or resource you found for case studies with our class!

 

Survey

Was This Guide Helpful?

Take a moment to complete this short survey to tell me what you think about this guide.
Name
Email
1. It is ______ to find resources for my discipline or area of study.
Easier
More difficult
About the same
2. The resources provided on the Recommended Websites page for each discipline are ____.
Very helpful
Somewhat helpful
Not helpful at all
3. I wish the guide also had information about...
4. Additional comments:
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip