Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Hogan Jazz Archive General Research Guide

A general overview of the Hogan Jazz Archive collection and other helpful research resources for the study of jazz and the musical culture of New Orleans.

Getting Started

What are archives?

Archives are non-current records of individuals, groups, institutions, and governments that contain information of enduring value. Archival repositories select, preserve and make available these records.

What will I find in the Hogan Jazz Archive?

The Hogan Jazz Archive is a renowned center for New Orleans jazz research. The collection includes oral histories, recorded music, photographs, films, manuscript collections, sheet music and orchestrations. It also maintains files of clippings and bibliographic references; books and periodicals; and discographies and encyclopedias.

Welcome

Members of the Young Tuxedo Brass Band at parade

Young Tuxedo Brass Band, Ralston Crawford Collection of Jazz Photography

 

WELCOME TO THE HOGAN JAZZ ARCHIVE RESEARCH GUIDE

This guide provides a general overview of collections and other helpful research resources for the study of jazz and New Orleans music and culture. For assistance with Hogan Jazz Archive collections, please contact the Special Collections Research Services Unit at specialcollections@tulane.edu or 504-865-5685. You may also visit the Special Collections Reading Room in Jones Hall, room 200. The Reading Room is open to the public Monday through Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Click on the blue tabs to navigate the guide.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.