Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Survey
About This Guide
This guide will help you in your study of the social and political history of higher education in regards to the transformation of women and the college landscape from the early 20th century to present day.
Overview Resources
Find background information on your research topic.
- Newcomb ArchivesThis link will allow you to access
The Newcomb College Student Records
Records of the college and manuscript collections consisting of paper of alumnae and other women (1906- present)
The papers of a number of women involved in the Women's Movement from 1968- present
Materials about women's education and histories of Southern women.
Unpublished dissertations, theses, papers, and reports. - Newcomb Archives On-Line exhibitsNewcomb College Washington Avenue Campus 1891-1918
Interactive Map and Timeline!!
The Newcomb Arcade
Newcomb Pottery
Newcomb Through the Years
Newcomb Relief Unit
Sophie Speaks: Newcomb College Oral History Project
Scrapbooks
much more! - The Times Picayune
- Newspapers on microfilm, Howard-Tilton, room 201
- Hours of Microforms & Newspapers
- LSU has The Webindex of the Louisiana Newspaper Project
- Louisiana Online Newspapers
- University Archives, Manuscripts, and Louisiana Division
- Jambalaya Yearbook Online
- Amistad Research Center
Google Books and Other Sources
Google's is not the only wholesale digitization effort going on. Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance (OCA; http://www.opencontentalliance.org/) The OCA intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection. OCA books will in the future be accessible directly through the OCA website and indexed through Yahoo, but are best browed or searched at present through the "texts" section of the Internet Archive site at http://www.archive.org/details/texts.
There are also projects that attempt to index available e-books. The Digital Book Index (DBI) at http://www.digitalbookindex.org/ has kept up reasonably well with existing projects, and the Online Books Page (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/) links to 25,000 free e-books, but these figures will be dwarfed by the Google and OCA projects.
- The Celebration of Women WritersThe Celebration of Women Writers is a project developed in collaboration with the Online Books Page. Women writers' books digitized under the auspices of the project or linked to from the project are also indexed in the Online Books Page. In addition, Celebration of Women Writers links to biographical and bibliographical information about women writers.
- Open Content AllianceMicrosoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance, which intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection.
- Internet ArchiveOCA books are best browed or searched through the "texts" section of the Internet Archives.
- Digital Book IndexThe Digital Book Index has kept up reasonably well with existing projects - as of this writing it has indexed 130,000 books, of which 90,000 are freely accessible.
- Online Books PageThe Online Books Page links to over 1 million free e-books and is updated frequently.
Suggest a Website
Found a website that you think fits this category? Please submit a link and a brief description for us to review and publish.


Submit
Loading...
