Copyright
Copyright issues
Images are copyrighted. Be sure to cite the source of the images you use in your video.
See also: Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Online Videos Here's an excerpt:
Fair use is flexible; it is not uncertain or unreliable. In fact, for any particular field of critical or creative activity, lawyers and judges consider expectations and practice in assessing what is “fair” within the field. In weighing the balance at the heart of fair use analysis, judges refer to four types of considerations mentioned in the law: the nature of the use, the nature of the work used, the extent of the use and its economic effect. This still leaves much room for interpretation, especially since the law is clear that these are not the only necessary considerations. In reviewing the history of fair use litigation, we find that judges return again and again to two key questions:
- Did the unlicensed use “transform” the material taken from the copyrighted work by using it for a different purpose than that of the original, or did it just repeat the work for the same intent and value as the original?
- Was the material taken appropriate in kind and amount, considering the nature of the copyrighted work and of the use?
Both questions touch on, among other things, the question of whether the use will cause excessive economic harm to the copyright owner.
If the answers to these two questions are “yes,” a court is likely to find a use fair. Because that is true, such a use is unlikely to be challenged in the first place.
Finding Images
These sites contain collections of mostly still images. Some have moving images as well.
- Ad*Access
An image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. - American Memory from the Library of Congress - Home Page
Consists of more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical Library of Congress collections. The primary source and archival materials relating in the project cover topics from art and architecture to performing arts to technology. - AP Photo Archive

The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. Login required for off-campus access. - ARTstor
Collection of images from various sources such as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Login required for off-campus access. - Bridgeman - Art, Culture, History Images from the Bridgeman Art Library, a leading source of fine art, cultural and historical images.
- Corbis Stock photography, footage, rights
Stock photos from Corbis. - Emergence of Advertising in America Over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials is drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
- Flickr (Advanced search page)
Flickr's advanced search page allows you to search for items on the site that are in the Creative Commons. - Google Images
Images pulled from websites. - Hurricane Digital Memory Bank
The largest free public archive of photos, stories, and memories of Hurricanes Rita and Katrina. Over 25,000 items. - Life Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. - Molecular Expressions
Collections of color photographs taken through an optical microscope (commonly referred to as "photo-micro-graphs"). Includes some collections of moving images. - Springer Images
A collection of scientific images, incorporating clinical medical images from images.MD. Includes photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables that may be used in presentations or lectures. - Tulane Logos
Official Tulane logos - Wikimedia Commons
A wiki for images and media. They are all in the Creative Commons. - Women Working: 1800 - 1930 Digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections. Explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Documents working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, etc.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Photographs, illustrations and multimedia files from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. - U.S. Government Photos and Graphics
Photos and graphics from federal agencies. Most images are in the public domain and can be used without permission.
Other libraries' guides
- BU Libraries | Finding Images on the Web Guide to finding images from Boston University. Includes sections on Ads, arts, clip art, maps, people, sciences, etc.
- Image and Sound Databases UC Berkeley Library's site of image and sound databases.
- Finding Images (F&M Library) Franklin & Marshall College Library's finding images page.
Ask Us!
If we are not online, leave us a message.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait