This is the "Overview" page of the "IDEV 4951-02 Women, Gender, and Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Nadine Vorhoff Library Newcomb College Institute of Tulane University

IDEV 4951-02 Women, Gender, and Development  

This guide will help students in their research process in studying about women, gender, and development. The reference sources can be found in the Nadine Vorhoff Library in the Caroline Richardson Building.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/idev Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide will help students in their research of the gendered impacts of international development.  

 

Reference Books

Reference Books in the Nadine Vorhoff Library

 

The Penguin Atlas of Women in the World, Fourth Edition.  Joni Seager. 2009.

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women:  Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. Vol. 1, pp. 317-374


The State of Women in the World Atlas.  Seager.


Women and Development: Articles, Books, and Research Papers Indexed in the Joint Bank-Fund Library, Washington, D.C. 


Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues


 

Google Books and Other Sources

Google's is not the only wholesale digitization effort going on. Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance (OCA; http://www.opencontentalliance.org/) The OCA intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection. OCA books will in the future be accessible directly through the OCA website and indexed through Yahoo, but are best browed or searched at present through the "texts" section of the Internet Archive site at http://www.archive.org/details/texts.

There are also projects that attempt to index available e-books. The Digital Book Index (DBI) at http://www.digitalbookindex.org/ has kept up reasonably well with existing projects, and the Online Books Page (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/) links to 25,000 free e-books, but these figures will be dwarfed by the Google and OCA projects.

  • The Celebration of Women Writers
    The Celebration of Women Writers is a project developed in collaboration with the Online Books Page. Women writers' books digitized under the auspices of the project or linked to from the project are also indexed in the Online Books Page. In addition, Celebration of Women Writers links to biographical and bibliographical information about women writers.
  • Open Content Alliance
    Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance, which intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection.
  • Internet Archive
    OCA books are best browed or searched through the "texts" section of the Internet Archives.
  • Digital Book Index
    The Digital Book Index has kept up reasonably well with existing projects - as of this writing it has indexed 130,000 books, of which 90,000 are freely accessible.
  • Online Books Page
    The Online Books Page links to over 1 million free e-books and is updated frequently.
 

Survey

Resource Suggestions

Select Submit to suggest a helpful link or resource you found for case studies with our class!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip