Found on the first-floor book display, "Women in Power in the Arts" highlights African-American women who are recognized as trailblazers in their artistic field, and inspirational mentors to subsequent generations of women of color in the arts.
Marian Anderson album of songs and spirituals
by Marian Anderson
Call Number: M 1619 .A6 R9
Publication Date: 1948
Black Women and Music
by Eileen M. Hayes (Editor); Linda F. Williams (Editor); Ingrid Monson (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML 82 .B53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
This collection is the first interdisciplinary volume to examine black women's negotiation of race and gender in African American music.
Transnational Cinematic and Popular Music Icons
by Aaron Lefkovitz
Call Number: ML394 .L44 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-08
Transnational Cinematic & Popular Music Icons: Lena Horne, Dorothy Dandridge, & Queen Latifah, 1917-2017 connects Horne, Dandridge, and Latifah to each other and legacies of Hollywood stereotypes and popular music's internationally-routed politics.
American Composer Zenobia Powell Perry
by Jeannie Gayle Pool
Call Number: ML410.P29533 P66 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-19
Jeannie Gayle Pool examines the life of this talented individual who faced tremendous challenges as a female, as an African American, and as a woman of mixed heritage. Based on interviews conducted by the author, as well as Perry's personal papers, correspondence, and scores, Pool provides a rich portrait of this unique composer. Pool also provides an analysis of Perry's musical style, a chronology, a complete list of works, and several appendixes. Raising many complex and unresolved issues related to American blacks with Native American heritage, Perry's life story bears witness to a century in which tremendous strides were made toward equality for all.
by Stephen Bourne; Ned Sherrin (Foreword by)
Call Number: ML 420 .W36 B68 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-12
In Elisabeth Welch: Soft Lights and Sweet Music, author Stephen Bourne celebrates the stage, screen, and radio career of this sophisticated African American actress and singer, who always defied categorization.
by Stuart Nicholson
Call Number: ML420.F52 N5 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-01
Stuart Nicholson's biography of Ella Fitzgerald is considered a classic in jazz literature. Drawing on original documents, interviews, and new information, Nicholson draws a complete picture of Fitzgerald's professional and personal life. Fitzgerald rose from being a pop singer with chart-novelty hits in the late '30s to become a bandleader and then one of the greatest interpreters of American popular song. Along with Billie Holiday, she virtually defined the female voice in jazz, and countless others followed in her wake and acknowledged her enormous influence. Also includes two 8-page inserts.
Lady Sings the Blues
by Billie Holiday; David Ritz (Foreword by); William Dufty
Call Number: ML420.H58 A3 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-25
Lady Sings the Blues is the fiercely honest, no-holds-barred autobiography of Billie Holiday, the legendary jazz, swing, and standards singing sensation.
by James Gavin
Call Number: ML420.H65 G38 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-23
At long last, the first serious biography of entertainment legend Lena Horne -- the celebrated star of film, stage, and music who became one of the first African-American icons.
She Begat This
by Joan Morgan
Call Number: ML420.H427 M67 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
An NPR 2018 Great Read Celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the acclaimed and influential debut album The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill with this eye-opening and moving exploration of Lauryn Hill and her remarkable artistic legacy.
Beyoncé in Formation
by Omise'eke Tinsley
Call Number: ML420.K675 T56 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
Making headlines when it was launched in 2015, Omise'eke Natasha Tinsley's undergraduate course Beyoncé Feminism, Rihanna Womanism has inspired students from all walks of life. In Finding Beyoncé, Tinsley now takes her rich observations beyond the classroom, using the blockbuster album and video Lemonade as a soundtrack for vital next-millennium narratives.
Hip-Hop Revolution in the Flesh
by Greg Thomas
Call Number: ML420.L58 T46 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-19
An extended study of the writings of Lil' Kim, the multi-platinum selling Hip Hop artist. Examines Lil' Kim's anti-sexist, gender-defiant and ultra-erotic verse alongside issues of race and the politics of imprisonment. This is the first study to apply the tools of literary criticism to Hip Hop's lyrical writings.
Hip Hop's Amnesia
by Reiland Rabaka
Call Number: ML3531 .R225 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
Hip Hop's Amnesia is a study about aesthetics and politics, music and social movements, as well as the ways in which African Americans' unique history and culture has consistently led them to create musics that have served as the soundtracks for their socio-political aspirations and frustrations, their socio-political organizations and nationally-networked movements.
Dance & Theater
Dancing in Blackness
by Halifu Osumare; Brenda Dixon Gottschild (Foreword by)
Call Number: GV1624.7.A34 O78 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Dancing in Blackness is a professional dancer's personal journey over four decades, across three continents and twenty-three countries, and through defining moments in the story of black dance in America.
Tappin' at the Apollo
by Cheryl M. Willis
Call Number: GV1786.S318 W55 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-17
In the 1920s and 1930s, Edwina "Salt" Evelyn and Jewel "Pepper" Welch learned to tap dance on street corners in New York and Philadelphia. By the 1940s, they were Black show business headliners, playing Harlem's Apollo Theater with the likes of Count Basie, Fats Waller and Earl "Fatha" Hines. Their exuberant tap style, usually performed by men, earned them the respect of their male peers and the acclaim of audiences. Based on extensive interviews with Salt and Pepper, this book chronicles for the first time the lives and careers of two overlooked female performers who succeeded despite the racism, sexism and homophobia of the Big Band era.
Urban Bush Women
by Nadine George-Graves
Call Number: GV1786.U73 G46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Nadine George-Graves presents a comprehensive history of Urban Bush Women since their founding in 1984. She analyzes their complex work, drawing on interviews with current and former dancers and her own observation of and participation in Urban Bush Women rehearsals. This illustrated book captures the grace and power of the dancers in motion and provides an absorbing look at an innovative company that continues to raise the bar for socially conscious dance.
Divas on Screen
by Mia Mask
Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 M327 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-02
This insightful study places African American women's stardom in historical and industrial contexts by examining the star personae of five African American women: Dorothy Dandridge, Pam Grier, Whoopi Goldberg, Oprah Winfrey, and Halle Berry.
African American Actresses
by Charlene B. Regester
Call Number: PN1995.9.N4 R42 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
Nine actresses, from Madame Sul-Te-Wan in Birth of a Nation (1915) to Ethel Waters in Member of the Wedding (1952), are profiled in African American Actresses. Charlene Regester poses questions about prevailing racial politics, on-screen and off-screen identities, and black stardom and white stardom. She reveals how these women fought for their roles as well as what they compromised (or didn't compromise). Regester repositions these actresses to highlight their contributions to cinema in the first half of the 20th century, taking an informed theoretical, historical, and critical approach.
by Donald Bogle
Call Number: PN 2287 .D256 B64 1997
Publication Date: 1999-11-23
Dorothy Dandridge -- like Marilyn and Liz--was a dream goddess of the fifties. All audiences ever had to do was take one look at her -- in a nightclub, on television, or in the movies -- and they were hooked. She was unforgettable, Hollywood's first full-fledged African American movie star. This definitive biography -- exhaustively researched -- presents the panoramic dimensions of this extraordinary and ultimately tragic life.
One Life: The Autobiography of an African American Actress
by Ellen Holly
Call Number: PN 2287 .H614 A3 1996
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
The stage and soap opera actress recounts her struggle with racism during her long career on the program, One Life to Live, a struggle complicated by her light skin, her relationship with Harry Belafonte, and her alcoholism.
Presenting Oprah Winfrey, Her Films, and African American Literature
by Tara T. Green (Editor)
Call Number: PN2287.W495 P84 2013
Publication Date: 2012-12-28
Oprah Winfrey has long promoted black issues by being involved as a producer or actor in the adaptation of works by African American writers for film. This volume evaluates Winfrey's involvement in the visual interpretation of African American literary texts using film, music, black masculinity, black feminist, and cultural theory.
Zora Neale Hurston, Eulalie Spence, Marita Bonner, and Others
by Jennifer Burton (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS 628 .N4 Z67 1996
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
During the 1920s the annual literary contests sponsored by The Crisis and Opportunity magazines provided critical professional outlets for African-American women playwrights. The works presented here (both prize-winning plays and plays that received their first publication in such organs as The Saturday Evening Quill and Carolina Magazine) cover a wide range of dramatic genres - from propaganda plays and light comedies to melodramas, folk plays, and poetic drama.
By the Way, Meet Vera Stark
by Lynn Nottage
Call Number: PS3564.O795 B93 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
In her first new play since the critically acclaimed Ruined, Lynn Nottage examines the legacy of African Americans in Hollywood in a dramatic stylistic departure from her previous work.
by Lynn Nottage
Call Number: PS3564.O795 R85 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Winner of the 2009 Pulitzer Prize for Drama. A rain forest bar and brothel in the brutally war-torn Congo is the setting for Lynn Nottage's extraordinary new play. The establishment's shrewd matriarch, Mama Nadi, keeps peace between customers from both sides of the civil war, as government soldiers and rebel forces alike choose from her inventory of women, many already "ruined" by rape and torture when they were pressed into prostitution. Inspired by interviews she conducted in Africa with Congo refugees, Nottage has crafted an engrossing and uncommonly human story with humor and song served alongside its postcolonial and feminist politics in the rich theatrical tradition of Bertolt Brecht's Mother Courage.
Literary & Women's Studies
The Crunk Feminist Collection
by Brittney C. Cooper (Editor); Robin M. Boylorn (Editor); Susana M. Morris (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1421 .C78 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
For the Crunk Feminist Collective, their academic day jobs were lacking in conversations they actually wanted - relevant, real conversations about how race and gender politics intersect with pop culture and current events. To address this void, they started a blog. Now with an annual readership of nearly one million, their posts foster dialogue about activist methods, intersectionality, and sisterhood. In this collection of essays, these self-described as 'critical homegirls' tackle life stuck between loving hip hop and ratchet culture while hating patriarchy, misogyny and sexism.
Black Feminist Cultural Criticism
by Jacqueline Bobo (Editor); Randall Curren (Editor)
Call Number: NX 512.3 .A35 B625 2001
Publication Date: 2001-02-08
Black Feminist Cultural Criticism is the first comprehensive analysis of the full range of Black women's creative achievements. In this outsdanding collection, writers and scholars in literature, film, television, theatre, music, art, material culture, and other cultural forms explicate Black women's artistry within the context of an activist framework. The contributors are concerned with the politics of cultural production and the ways in which Black women have confronted institutional and social barriers.
Meeting Points in Black/Africana Women's Literature
by Helen Chukwuma; Preselfannie E. Whitfield McDaniels
Call Number: PS153.N5 M386 2016
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Visionary Women Writers of Chicago's Black Arts Movement
by Carmen L. Phelps
Call Number: PS153.N5 P49 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-26
In Visionary Women Writers of Chicago's Black Arts Movement, Carmen L. Phelps examines the work of several women artists working in Chicago, a key focal point for the energy and production of the movement. Angela Jackson, Johari Amiri, and Carolyn Rodgers reflect in their writing specific cultural, local, and regional insights, and demonstrate the capaciousness of Black Art rather than its constraints. Expanding from these three writers, Phelps analyzes the breadth of women's writing in BAM. In doing so, Phelps argues that these and other women attained advantageous and unique positions to represent the potential of the BAM aesthetic, even if their experiences and artistic perspectives were informed by both social conventions and constraints. In this book, Phelps's examination brings forward a powerful and crucial contribution to the aesthetics and history of a movement that still inspires.
Black Love and the Harlem Renaissance, the Novels of Nella Larsen, Jessie Redmon Fauset, and Zora Neale Hurston
by Portia Boulware Ransom
Call Number: PS 153.N5 R36 2005
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
This is a literary critical study of the forms of intimacy within a marginalized and stigmatized social group. The author describes the process of ridicule, exclusion, destitution, imprisonment, and rhetorical silencing in an historical period when spirited change was in the air. Though this book does not neglect the resisting black men (many of whom were homosexual), it concentrates on the humiliated and dominated black women.
Conversations with Octavia Butler
by Conseula Francis (Editor)
Call Number: PS3552.U827 Z46 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
In interviews ranging from 1980 until just before her sudden death in 2006, Conversations with Octavia Butler reveals a writer very much aware of herself as the "rare bird" of science fiction even as she shows frustration with the constant question,"How does it feel to be the only one?" Whether discussing humanity's biological imperatives or the difference between science fiction and fantasy or the plight of the working poor in America, Butler emerges in these interviews as funny, intelligent, complicated, and intensely original.
Of Bodies, Communities, and Voices
by Florian Bast
Call Number: PS3552.U827 Z54 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
This study investigates the narrative contribution of texts by African American science fiction author Octavia Butler to ongoing philosophical debates about the conceptualization of agency. These debates have been central and highly controversial both within the context of postmodern de- and reconstructions of the subject and within the ongoing struggle of feminism, critical race studies, and other schools of thought for social justice.
Changing Bodies in the Fiction of Octavia Butler
by Gregory Jerome Hampton
Call Number: PS3552.U827 Z69 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-14
Changing Bodies in the Fiction of Octavia Butler: Slaves, Aliens, and Vampires is a timely text that critically situates Butler's fiction in several fields of study including American, African-American, gender, and science fiction studies.
Novels & Short Stories
by Verner D. Mitchell; Cynthia Davis
Call Number: PS153.N5 M58 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-12
Harlem Renaissance writer Dorothy West led a charmed life in many respects. Born into a distinguished Boston family, she appeared in Gershwin's Porgy and Bess, then lived in the Soviet Union with a group that included Langston Hughes, to whom she proposed marriage. She later became friends with Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, who encouraged her to finish her second novel, The Wedding, which became the octogenarian author's first bestseller. Literary Sisters reveals a different side of West's personal and professional lives--her struggles for recognition outside of the traditional literary establishment, and her collaborations with talented African American women writers, artists, and performers who faced these same problems. West and her "literary sisters"--women like Zora Neale Hurston and West's cousin, poet Helene Johnson--created an emotional support network that also aided in promoting, publishing, and performing their respective works.
by Nella Larsen
Call Number: PS 3523 .A7225 P3 1995
Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Nella Larsen (1891-1964) occupies a central place in African-American and Modernist literature, and her status as a Harlem Renaissance woman writer is rivaled only by Zora Neale Hurston's.
Bloodchild and Other Stories
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS 3552 .U827 A6 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-04
A perfect introduction for new readers and a must-have for avid fans, this New York Times Notable Book includes "Bloodchild," winner of both the Hugo and the Nebula awards and "Speech Sounds," winner of the Hugo Award. Appearing in print for the first time, "Amnesty" is a story of a woman named Noah who works to negotiate the tense and co-dependent relationship between humans and a species of invaders. Also new to this collection is "The Book of Martha" which asks: What would you do if God granted you the ability—and responsibility—to save humanity from itself?
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS 3552 .U827 D38 1997
Publication Date: 1997-04-01
Lilith lyapo awoke from a centuries-long sleep to find herself aboard the vast spaceship of the Oankali. Creatures covered in writhing tentacles, the Oankali had saved every surviving human from a dying, ruined Earth. They healed the planet, cured cancer, increased strength, and were now ready to help Lilith lead her people back to Earth--but for a price.
by Octavia E. Butler; Robert Crossley (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS 3552 .U827 K5 1988
Publication Date: 1988-09-15
Dana, a modern black woman, is celebrating her twenty-sixth birthday with her new husband when she is snatched abruptly from her home in California and transported to the antebellum South. With more than 100,000 copies in print, Kindred is a classic timetravel novel by an acclaimed African-American science fictionwriter.
Parable of the Sower
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS 3552 .U827 P37 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Parable of the Sower is a dystopian classic of terror and hope-the story of an African American teenage girl trying to survive in an all-too-real future-from the "grand dame" of science fiction, Octavia E. Butler. When unattended environmental and economic crises lead to social chaos, not even gated communities are safe.
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS3552.U827 F47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-04
This is the story of an apparently young, amnesiac girl whose alarmingly unhuman needs and abilities lead her to a startling conclusion: She is in fact a genetically modified, 53-year-old vampire. Forced to discover what she can about her stolen former life, she must at the same time learn who wanted-and still wants-to destroy her and those she cares for and how she can save herself.
Parable of the Talents
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS3552.U827 P38 1998
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Lauren Olamina's daughter, Larkin, describes the broken and alienated world of 2032, as war racks the North American continent and an ultra-conservative religious crusader becomes president.
by Gloria Naylor
Call Number: PS 3564 .A895 M3 1988
Publication Date: 1988-02-01
On the island of Willow Springs, off the Georgia coast, the powers of healer Mama Day are tested by her great niece, Cocoa, a stubbornly emancipated woman endangered by the island's darker forces. A powerful generational saga at once tender and suspenseful, overflowing with magic and common sense.
The Women of Brewster Place
by Gloria Naylor
Call Number: PS 3564 .A895 W6 1983
Publication Date: 1983-06-30
In her heralded first novel, Gloria Naylor weaves together the stories of seven women living in Brewster Place, a bleak-inner city sanctuary, creative a powerful, moving portrait of the strengths, struggles, and hopes of black women in America.
by Gloria Naylor
Call Number: PS3564.A895L5 1985
Publication Date: 1985-02-01
A world away from Brewster Place, yet intimately connected to it, lies Linden Hills. With its showcase homes, elegant lawns, and other trappings of Wealth, Linden Hills is not unlike other affluent black communities. But residence in this community is indisputable evidence of "making it." Although no one knows what the precise qualifications are, everyone knows that only certain people get to live there - and that they want to be among them. In a resonant novel that takes as it's model Dante's Inferno, Gloria Naylor reveals the truth about the American dream - that the price of success may very well be on a journey down to the lowest circle of hell.
Mind of My Mind
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS 3552 .U827 M55 1994
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
For 4,000 years, an immortal has spread the seeds of a master race, using the downtrodden as his private breeding stock. But now a young ghetto telepath has found a way to awaken--and rule--her superhuman kind, igniting a psychic battle as she challenges her creator for her right to free her people.
LILITH'S BROOD is a profoundly evocative, sensual -- and disturbing -- epic of human transformation. Lilith Iyapo is in the Andes, mourning the death of her family, when war destroys Earth. Centuries later, she is resurrected -- by miraculously powerful unearthly beings, the Oankali. Driven by an irresistible need to heal others, the Oankali are rescuing our dying planet by merging genetically with mankind. But Lilith and all humanity must now share the world with uncanny, unimaginably alien creatures: their own children. This is their story...
by Octavia E. Butler
Call Number: PS 3552 .U827 C55 1996
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
In a violent near-future, Asa Elias Doyle and her companions encounter an alien life form so heinous and destructive, they exile themselves in the desert so as not to contaminate other humans. To resist the compulsion to infect others is mental agony, but to succumb is to relinquish humanity and free will. Desperate, they kidnap a doctor and his two daughters as they cross the wasteland--and endanger the world.
The Inheritance Trilogy
by N. K. Jemisin
Call Number: PS3610.E46 A6 2014
Publication Date: 2014-12-09
After her mother's mysterious death, a young woman is summoned to the floating city of Sky in order to claim a royal inheritance she never knew existed in this award-winning fantasy trilogy from the NYT bestselling author of The Fifth Season. Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle.
The Works of Alice Dunbar-Nelson
by Alice Dunbar-Nelson; Gloria T. Hull (Editor)
Call Number: PS3507 .U6228 1988
Publication Date: 1988-04-14
Spanning the gamut of literary genres, from autobiographical short stories to poetry, journalism, and novelettes, this is a comprehensive collection of one of America's most seminal women writers.
The Shadowed Sun
by N. K. Jemisin
Call Number: PS3610.E46 S53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-12
Gujaareh, the city of dreams, suffers under the imperial rule of the Kisuati Protectorate. A city where the only law was peace now knows violence and oppression. And nightmares: a mysterious and deadly plague haunts the citizens of Gujaareh, dooming the infected to die screaming in their sleep. Trapped between dark dreams and cruel overlords, the people yearn to rise up -- but Gujaareh has known peace for too long. Someone must show them the way. Hope lies with two outcasts: the first woman ever allowed to join the dream goddess' priesthood and an exiled prince who longs to reclaim his birthright. Together, they must resist the Kisuati occupation and uncover the source of the killing dreams... before Gujaareh is lost forever.
The Collected Works of Phillis Wheatley
by Phillis Wheatley; John Shields (Editor)
Call Number: PS509.N4 S3 Wh
Publication Date: 1988-04-14
Phillis Wheatley (1753-1784), the first black American to publish a book, was internationally famous during her short life. This edition, with an essay by the editor, restores her to her proper place in America's literary heritage.
by Vincent Carretta
Call Number: PS866.W5 Z5827 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
In Phillis Wheatley, Vincent Carretta offers the first full-length biography of a figure whose origins and later life have remained shadowy despite her iconic status.
by Gwendolyn Brooks
Call Number: PS 3503 .R7244 A6 1963
Publication Date: 1963
Selected Poems is the classic volume by the distinguished and celebrated poet, Gwendolyn Brooks, winner of the 1950 Pulitzer Prize, and recipient of the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. This compelling collection showcases Brooks’ technical mastery, her warm humanity, and her compassionate and illuminating response to a complex world.
by Gwendolyn Brooks
Call Number: PS 3503 .R7244 I48 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Composed of three sections, this collection features the final poems of the late poet laureate of Illinois.
The Near-Johannesburg Boy, and Other Poems
by Gwendolyn Brooks
Call Number: PS 3503 .R7244 N4 1991
Publication Date: 1991-11-01
Brooks writes about Africa and the African Americans.
by Gwendolyn Brooks
Call Number: PS3503.R7244 M37 1974
Publication Date: 1987-05-01
by Gwendolyn Brooks
Call Number: PS3503.R7244 T6
Publication Date: 1981-09-01
The Prosaic Soul of Nikki Giovanni
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS3557.I55 A6 2003
Publication Date: 2003-12-16
For the first time, the collected prose of national treasure Nikki Giovanni Gemini: An Extended Autobiographical Statement on My First Twenty-Five Years of Being a Black Poet Nominated for the National Book Award, this is a journey -- both private and public -- through the trials and triumphs of 1960s America.
Come Out the Wilderness
by Estella Conwill Májozo
Call Number: PS 3563 .A29827 Z465 1999
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
Estella Conwill Majozo has lead a life of creativity and leadership in the arts. A respected poet, teacher, and performance artist, Majozo writes eloquently about both the deep roots in family and community that have sustained her, and the conflicts and challenges that have confronted her, as they have many creative and self-aware African American women over the last half-century. This memoir traces the paths Majozo has taken from the "Little Africa" section of segregated Louisville, through a difficult marriage and a Ph.D. at the University of Iowa, to New York, where Majozo has become a member of the hardy cultural community of Harlem. It is a testament to the importance of a life lived in pursuit of cultural heritage, spiritual growth, and personal integrity.
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS 3557 .I55 L68 1997
Publication Date: 1997-02-14
In a career that has spanned more than a quarter century, Nikki Giovanni has earned the reputation as one of America's most celebrated and contoversial writers.Now, she presents a stunning collection of love poems that includes more than twenty new works. From the revolutionary "Seduction" to the tender new poem, "Just a Simple Declaration of Love," from the whimsical "I Wrote a Good Omelet" to the elegiac "All Eyez on U," written for Tupac Shakur, these poems embody the fearless passion and spirited wit for which Nikki Giovanni is beloved and revered. Romantic, bold, and erotic, Love Poems expresses notions of love in ways that are delightfully unexpected.
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS3557.I55 C47 2013
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
From one of America's most celebrated poets, Nikki Giovanni, comes this poignant collection of poetry that celebrates the simple pleasures of everyday life and the bonds we share with those closest to us.
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS3557.I55 M9
Publication Date: 1974-03-01
Enter the world of Nikki Giovanni. Writing of mothers and their children, of childhood memories, of black leaders and black Africa, the poems in My House marked a new dimension in tone and philosophy for Nikki Giovanni when they first appeared at the beginning of her extraordinary career.
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS3557.I55 B53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-13
In a career that has earned her accolades, honorary degrees, and awards from both fellow poets and everyday poetry lovers, Nikki Giovanni has established herself as a writer who can entertain and challenge, inform and inspire. Sometimes controversial, sometimes ethereal, but always beautiful, her poems move readers of all hues and generations. With Bicycles, she's collected poems that serve as a companion to her 1997 Love Poems.
A Good Cry
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS3557.I55 A6 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-24
One of America's most celebrated poets looks inward in this powerful collection, a rumination on her life and the people who have shaped her.
Quilting the Black-Eyed Pea
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS 3557 .I55 Q46 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-05
"One of her best collections to date." --Essence Quilting the Black-Eyed Pea is a tour de force from Nikki Giovanni, one of the most powerful voices in American poetry and African American literature today. From Black Feeling, Black Talk and Black Judgment in the 1960s to Bicycles in 2010, Giovanni's poetry has influenced literary figures from James Baldwin to Blackalicious, and touched millions of readers worldwide. In Quilting the Black-Eyed Pea, Giovanni turns her gaze toward the state of the world around her, and offers a daring, resonant look inside her own self as well.
Black feeling, Black talk, Black judgement
by Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS 3557 .I55 B64 1979
Publication Date: 1979
Black Feeling, Black Talk/Black Judgement is one of the single most important volumes of modern African-American poetry. This book, electrifying generations with its revolutionary phrases and inspiring them with such Nikki Giovanni masterpieces as the lyrical "Nikki-Rosa" and the intimate "Knoxville, Tennessee," is the seminal volume of Nikki Giovanni's body of work. Black Feeling, Black Talk/Black Judgement made Nikki Giovanni famous in 1968, and this reissue of her classic will enthrall those who have always adored her poems--and those who are just getting to know her work.
Brown Girl Dreaming
by Jacqueline Woodson
Call Number: PS3573.O64524 Z46 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement.
Art Surveys & Interpretation
by Rebecca Peabody
Call Number: N6537.W239 P43 2016
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
In Consuming Stories, Rebecca Peabody uses the work of contemporary American artist Kara Walker to investigate a range of popular storytelling traditions with roots in the nineteenth century and ramifications in the present.
by Jontyle Theresa Robinson; Tritobia H. Benjamin; Pearl Cleage; Beverly Guy-Sheftall; Akua McDaniel; Lowery Stokes-Sims; Judith Wilson; Maya Angelou; Johnnetta B. Cole
Call Number: N 6538 .N5 B43 1996
Publication Date: 1996-07-15
Atlanta's Spelman College commemorates 115 years of educating black women and the opening of its Museum of Fine Arts with this catalog for a traveling exhibition of masterworks in every medium by living African American women.
The Art of History
by Lisa Gail Collins
Call Number: N 6538 .N5 C65 2002
Publication Date: 2002-04-22
In this lively and engaging book, Lisa Gail Collins examines the work of contemporary African American women artists.
Creating Their Own Image
by Lisa E. Farrington
Call Number: N 6538 .N5 F27 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-30
Creating Their Own Image marks the first comprehensive history of African-American women artists, from slavery to the present day.
Forever free : art by African-American women, 1862-1980
by Arna Alexander Bontemps, editor ; Jacqueline Fonvielle-Bontemps, director/curator ; David C. Driskell, visiting curator.
Call Number: N 6538 .N5 F67 1980
Publication Date: 1980
Published in conjunction with Forever Free : An Exhibit of Art by African-American Women 1862-1980. Catalog of an exhibition held at the Center for the Visual Arts Gallery, Illinois State University, January 30-February 22, 1981
by Robert L. Hall; Steven C. Newsome (Introduction by)
Call Number: N 6538 .N5 H26 1992
Publication Date: 1992-08-17
Presents works in sculpture, painting, and other media by fifteen artists, and provides information about their careers.
The Art of Black American Women
by Robert Henkes
Call Number: N 6538 .N5 H45 1993
Publication Date: 1993-04-01
African American women artists have fought both racism and prejudice. Their works, remarkably varied in style, expression and medium, reflect the sensitivity and integrity that is, in part, a product of this struggle.The art of 24 African American women are examined: Lois Mailou Jones, Shirley Woodson, Howardena Pindell, Vivian Browne, Norma Morgan, Freida High W. Tesfagiorgis, Elizabeth Catlett, Jewel Simon, Faith Ringgold, Emma Amos, Robin Holder, Cynthia Hawkins, Camille Billops, Delilah Pierce, Yvonne Catchings, Gilda Snowden, Malkia Roberts, Ann Tanksley, Alma Woodsey Thomas, Clementine Hunter, Viola Burley Leak, Mary Reed Daniel, Adell Westbrook, and Nanette Carter. Their work is allied to various schools of art, from expressionism to realism.
Beyond Mammy, Jezebel and Sapphire
by Sigrid Asmus (Editor); Catherine M. Pears (Foreword by); Sha'Condria Sibley (Text by); Karen Riley Simmons (Text by); Claudine Taaffe (Text by); Takiyah Nur Amin (Text by); Velva Boles (Text by); Claire Oberon Garcia (Text by); Jean Gumpper (Text by); Kate Leonard (Text by); Heidi R. Lewis (Text by); Roland B. Mitchell (Text by); Venetria K. Patton (Text by)
Call Number: N6538.N5 B49 2016
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Engaging a wide range of experiences, techniques and materials, the nine artists featured in this volume challenge the images of black women that continue to pervade our culture and influence perceptions: stereotypes such as the suffering mama, the angry black woman and the temptress. Brought together in this publication, works by Romare Bearden, Mildred Howard, Wangechi Mutu, Lorna Simpson, Kara Walker, Robert Colescott, Ellen Gallagher, Alison Saar and Mickalene Thomas disrupt expectations and replace simplistic narratives with nuanced, sophisticated meditations on contemporary identity.
South of Pico
by Kellie Jones
Call Number: N6538.N5 J668 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-07
Named a Best Art Book of 2017 by the New York Times and Artforum In South of Pico Kellie Jones explores how the artists in Los Angeles's black communities during the 1960s and 1970s created a vibrant, productive, and engaged activist arts scene in the face of structural racism.
Women Artists of the Harlem Renaissance
by Amy Helene Kirschke (Editor)
Call Number: N6538.N5 W66 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
Women artists of the Harlem Renaissance dealt with issues that were unique to both their gender and their race. They experienced racial prejudice, which limited their ability to obtain training and to be taken seriously as working artists. They also encountered prevailing sexism, often an even more serious barrier. Including seventy-two black and white illustrations, this book chronicles the challenges of women artists, who are in some cases unknown to the general public, and places their achievements in the artistic and cultural context of early twentieth-century America.
Global Africa Project
by Lowery Stokes Sims (Editor, Contribution by); Leslie King-Hammond (Editor)
Call Number: N7380.5 .G59 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
This book provides a savvy survey of the latest work by designers, craftspeople, and architects of African descent around the world.
Remaking Race and History
by Renée Ater; Meta Warrick Fuller
Call Number: NB237.F85 A88 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-22
This beautifully written study focuses on the life and public sculpture of Meta Warrick Fuller (1877-1968), one of the early twentieth century's few African American women artists. To understand Fuller's strategy for negotiating race, history, and visual representation, Renée Ater examines the artist's contributions to three early twentieth-century expositions: the Warwick Tableaux, a set of dioramas for the Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition (1907); Emancipation, a freestanding group for the National Emancipation Exposition (1913); and Ethiopia, the figure of a single female for the America's Making Exposition (1921). Ater argues that Fuller's efforts to represent black identity in art provide a window on the Progressive Era and its heated debates about race, national identity, and culture.
Mixed Media, Installation, and Sculpture
Secrets, Dialogues, Revelations
by Elizabeth Shepherd (Editor)
Call Number: N 6537 .S2 A4 1990
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Catalog of an exhibition at Wright Gallery by Betye and Alison Saar.
Uneasy Dancer brings together over 80 works including installations, assemblages, collages and sculptures by the pioneering Los Angeles artist Betye Saar (born 1926) produced between 1966 and 2016. This handsomely designed volume presents Saar's work as a copiously illustrated timeline, with numerous documentary images and exhibition details. "Uneasy Dancer" is an expression Saar has used to define both herself and her artistic practice: "my work moves in a creative spiral with the concepts of passage, crossroads, death and rebirth, along with the underlying elements of race and gender." Through her use of found objects, personal memorabilia and derogatory images that evoke denied or distorted narratives, Saar developed a powerful social critique that challenges racial and sexist stereotypes deeply rooted in American culture.
Betye Saar: Still Tickin'
by Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art (Compiled by)
Call Number: N6537 .S22 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Betye Saar (born 1926) is a legend. For 60 years, she has created powerful artworks that question traditional roles and representations of African Americans and women in the US, as well as deeply personal works about her family history and spirituality. Betye Saar: Still Tickin' considers the breadth of the artist's career and its key themes. To contextualize Saar's works, this volume includes writings by the artist from the 1970s to the present day as well as a recent interview with Saar in which she discusses her artistic practice and her views on history, including the current debate about police violence in the US.
by Katharine Derosier Weiss (Contribution by); James Christen Steward; Richard Cándida Smith; Sean Ulmer; Kellie Jones; Lowery Stokes Sims; Deborah Willis
Call Number: N6537.S2 A4 2005a
Publication Date: 2005-11-21
Betye Saar, born in Los Angeles in 1926, emerged in the 1960s as a powerful figure in the redefinition of African American art. This beautifully illustrated book accompanies an exhibition of Saar's work, showcasing the extraordinary depth and breadth of her achievement.
by Kathryn E. Delmez (Editor); Jen Mergel; Shinique Smith; Frist Center for the Visual Arts (Nashville, Tenn.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: N6537.S6178 A4 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Like spiral galaxies composed of millions of orbiting stars, the works of New York State-based artist Shinique Smith are graceful yet forceful combinations of many different materials and ideas. Smith makes her sculptures, which hang from the ceiling or sit directly on the floor, by binding together an array of textiles, typically old clothing sourced from multiple locations, with knotted cords and ribbons.
by Sander L. Gilman (Text by); Yasmil Raymond (Text by); Robert Storr (Text by); Kevin Young (Text by); Philippe Vergne (Text by); Kara Walker (Artist, Contribution by); Thomas McEvilley (Text by)
Call Number: N6537.W239 A4 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
This landmark publication, which is sure to win international design awards, accompanies Walker's first major American museum survey. It features critical essays by Philippe Vergne, Sander L. Gilman, Thomas McEvilley, Robert Storr and Kevin Young, as well as an illustrated lexicon of recurring themes and motifs in the artist's most influential installations by Yasmil Raymond, more than 200 full-color images, an extensive exhibition history and bibliography, and a 36-page insert by the artist.
Kara Walker: Dust Jackets for the Niggerati
by Kara Walker (Artist); Hilton Als (Text by); James Hannaham (Text by); Chistopher Stackhouse (Text by); Kevin Young (Text by)
Call Number: N6537.W239 A4 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
This publication documents Dust Jackets for the Niggerati--and Supporting Dissertations, Drawings Submitted Ruefully by Dr. Kara E. Walker, a major series of graphite drawings and hand-printed texts on paper that grew out of Walker's attempts to understand how interpersonal and geopolitical powers are asserted through the lives of individuals.
The Ecstasy of St. Kara
by Reto Thüring; Beau Rutland; Kara Walker; John Lansdowne; Tracy K. Smith; Ari Marcopoulos (Photographer)
Call Number: N6537.W239 A4 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-18
Kara Walker's work astutely examines race, gender, and identity. Walker's newest series of large-scale drawings stem from her consideration of monuments and notions of permanence and impermanence following her massive public art project, A Subtlety, in Brooklyn. Influenced in part by the artist's recent residency at the American Academy in Rome, this series of drawings is an extensive examination of how Walker envisions the rise and fall of society. Richly illustrated, this publication includes plates of each drawing, as well as intimate photographs of the artist at work taken by her partner, acclaimed artist and filmmaker Ari Marcopoulos.
Independent woman : the life and art of Meta Warrick Fuller (1877-1968)
by Meta Warrick Fuller
Call Number: NB 237 .F855 A4 1984
Publication Date: 1984
Catalog of an exhibition held at the Danforth Museum of Art, Framingham, Mass., Dec. 16, 1984-Feb. 24, 1985 and at the Museum of the National Center of Afro-American Artists, Boston, Mass., May 5-July 7, 1985 ; Includes an essay by Harriet Forte Kennedy.
by Rinna Wolfe
Call Number: NB 237 .L487 W66 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
A committed artist and a complex personality born in 1844, Edmonia Lewis was the first African American artist to win international fame. Lewis's part-Chippewa heritage and upbringing instilled in her only simple, spartan needs, and freed her to pursue her art -- sculpture -- in tough times (the late 19th-century) and in challenging circumstances (as a lone African American women in Europe). She bravely kept to her idealistic themes of religion and justice. And she had a knack for business -- bartering tenaciously for the finest marble and winning commissions creatively.
Child of the Fire
by Kirsten Buick
Call Number: NB237.L487 B85 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-17
Child of the Fire is the first book-length examination of the career of the nineteenth-century artist Mary Edmonia Lewis, best known for her sculptures inspired by historical and biblical themes. Throughout this richly illustrated study, Kirsten Pai Buick investigates how Lewis and her work were perceived, and their meanings manipulated, by others and the sculptor herself. She argues against the racialist art discourse that has long cast Lewis's sculptures as reflections of her identity as an African American and Native American woman who lived most of her life abroad. Instead, by seeking to reveal Lewis's intentions through analyses of her career and artwork, Buick illuminates Lewis's fraught but active participation in the creation of a distinct "American" national art, one dominated by themes of indigeneity, sentimentality, gender, and race. In so doing, she shows that the sculptor variously complicated and facilitated the dominant ideologies of the vanishing American (the notion that Native Americans were a dying race), sentimentality, and true womanhood.
After the Deluge
by Kara Walker
Call Number: NC910.5.W35 A4 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Inspired by the tragedy that beset the Gulf Coast after Hurricane Katrina, Walker has created a volume exploring the interconnectedness of the subject of the sea, race, and poverty by juxtaposing examples of her work and historical works from the 19th century.
Bureau of Refugees
by Kara Walker (Text by)
Call Number: NC910.5.W35 A4 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This latest book features work from a new series that addresses, among other themes, the atrocities committed against former slaves after the Emancipation Proclamation of 1863 and the Reconstruction program implemented by Congress between 1866 and 1877.
On My Way
by Susan Roach
Call Number: ND237.A325 A4 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
On her journey away from the pain of poverty, abuse, and racism she experienced, Sarah Albritton has expressed herself in a variety of artistic modes: food preparation, restaurant decor, yard art, Christmas decorations, autobiographical prose and poetry, and most recently, narrative combined with paintings. This collection of her first touring exhibition includes forty-nine paintings in full color accompanied by Albritton's stories as transcribed by folklorist Susan Roach.
Never Late for Heaven: the art of Gwen Knight
by Gwendolyn Knight; Sheryl Conkelton; Barbara Earl Thomas; Tacoma Art Museum Staff (Contribution by); Janeanne A. Upp (Foreword by)
Call Number: N 6537 .K615 A4 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Never Late for Heaven chronicles an odyssey in American art and social events beginning with the often-romanticized Harlem Renaissance and traveling through the Great Depression and beyond. Gwen Knight's story reveals the life and the passion for painting of a young woman who was surrounded and supported by her community.
by Catherine De Zegher; Thelma Golden (Foreword by)
Call Number: NC139.M44 A4 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
A recent recipient of the highly prestigious MacArthur Foundation “Genius Grant,” Julie Mehretu is an important American artist. Concerned with how individuals come to understand their place in the world–both metaphorically and physically–through their identification with different communities or their experience of different places, Mehretu has created a body of work that is as dynamic as the subjects with which she is engaged. In this book–the most comprehensive study of her exquisite drawings–the fullness of her ideas and explorations of form are considered.
by Agustin Perez Rubio (Text by); Marcus Steinweg (Text by); Cay Sophie Rabinowitz (Text by)
Call Number: ND 237 .M4165 A4 2006
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
"MUSAC, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León." ; Catalog published in conjunction with an exhibition held at MUSAC, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León, León, Spain, September 23, 2006-January 7, 2007; Kunstverein Hannover, Hannover, Germany, February 9-April 1, 2007; Louisiana Museum for Moderne Kunst, Humlebæk, Denmark, June 1-August 26, 2007 ; Includes bibliographical references (p. 202-203) ; Text in English and Spanish
Alma W. Thomas
by Ft. Wayne Museum of Art Staff
Call Number: ND 237 .T5517 A4 1998
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The passion and talent of African American painter Alma Woodsey Thomas (1891-1978) shines through each of the full-color reproductions in this elegant book, the first comprehensive text published on Thomas's life and work in over fifteen years. This is the exhibition catalog for the show organized by the Fort Wayne Museum of Art, scheduled to travel to several American museums through January 2000.
Clementine Hunter, American Folk Artist
by James L. Wilson
Call Number: ND237.H915 A4 1988
Publication Date: 1988-10-31
The British publication ARTbibliographies says that “the author provides a detailed biography of Hunter, describes her studio, and traces the development of her artistic career in Melrose, Louisiana.” Independent Publisher describes it as “a beautifully published testament to an American original.”
by Clementine Hunter (Artist); Richard Gasperi (Introduction by); Bradley Sumrall (Contribution by)
Call Number: ND237.H915 A4 2014
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This sketchbook from 1945 by renowned Louisiana self-taught artist, Clementine Hunter, contains twenty-six previously unseen oil-on-paper sketches.
Julie Mehretu: City Sitings
by Siemon Allen; Julie Mehretu; Rebecca R. Hart; Kinsey Katchka; Detroit Institute of Arts Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: ND237.M4165 A4 2007
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
In her celebrated large-scale paintings, which are built up with layers of acrylic paint on canvas and overlaid with gestural pen and ink marks, Ethiopian-born, New York-based artist Julie Mehretu explores issues of mobility, social organization, political entanglement and global competition. Featured in this crisply designed volume are five new works from her city-specific series City Sitings, Detroit-related and all created for her exhibition at that city's Institute of Arts.
Life in art: Alma Thomas, 1891-1978
by Merry A Foresta
Call Number: ND237.T5517 A4 1981
Publication Date: 1981
Published on the occasion of an exhibition at the National Museum of American Art, NMAA, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C., November 26, 1981 - February 28, 1982
by Ian Berry; Lauren Haynes; Bridget R. Cooks (Contribution by); Thelma Golden (Contribution by); Nikki A. Greene (Contribution by); Leslie Hewitt (Contribution by); Jennie C. Jones (Contribution by); Leslie Wayne (Contribution by); Saya Woolfalk (Contribution by)
Call Number: ND237.T5517 A4 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-22
Filled with vibrant illustrations, this stunning volume traces Thomas's development as an artist: her transition from figuration to abstraction, her fascination with the natural world and space exploration, and the mesmerizing mosaic-like paintings she completed before her death. New writings focus on different themes in Thomas's work, and the book includes specially commissioned responses by leading artists Leslie Hewitt, Jennie C. Jones, Leslie Wayne, and Saya Woolfalk.
Mickalene Thomas - Origin of the Universe
by Arnold Lehman (Foreword by); Elsa Longhauser (Foreword by); Mickalene Thomas (Artist); Lisa Melandri (Editor)
Call Number: ND237.T55178 A4 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-30
Mickalene Thomas (born 1971) has won acclaim for her elaborate, colorful paintings of African-American women, often posed provocatively against rich, 1970s-themed backgrounds adorned with rhinestones, enamel and acrylics. Mickalene Thomas: The Origin of the Universe is the first monograph on the artist, and accompanies her first solo museum exhibition in the United States at the Santa Monica Museum of Art. It features a wide array of full-color reproductions of her work across media--much of it new and never before published--including photo collages and provocative landscapes, along with an interview with the artist and critical texts that elucidate her paintings' investigations of femininity, sexuality and power, and provide extensive context for her oeuvre as a whole.
We Flew over the Bridge
by Faith Ringgold
Call Number: N 6537 .R55 A2 1995
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Ringgold, the creator of the story quilt that led to her Caldecott Honor Book Tar Beach, recounts her struggle against racism and discrimination against women in a black community. Includes family snapshots and a 30-page color insert of her art.
American People, Black Light: Faith Ringgold's Paintings of The 1960s
by Faith Ringgold (Artist); Thom Collins (Editor); Michele Wallace (Text by); Tracy Fitzpatrick (Editor)
Call Number: ND237.R553 A4 2010
Publication Date: 2011-03-31
Faith Ringgold (born 1930) is famed today as the progenitor of the African-American story-quilt revival of the late 1970s, but her story begins much earlier, with her American People Series of 1963. These once influential paintings, and the many political posters and murals she created throughout the 1960s, have largely disappeared from view, being routinely omitted from art historical discourse over the past 40 years.
by Cuesta R. Benberry (Text by); Jonathan Holstein (Foreword by); Shelly Zegart (Foreword by)
Call Number: NK 9112 .B45 1992
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Thoughtfully written by curator Cuesta Benberry as catalogue for The Kentucky Quilt Project's installation of 1992 exhibition by the same title. Features 35 quilts in full color. Forewords by Jonathan Holstein & Shelly Zegart. Text discusses the historical context of African-American quiltmaking in the mainstream of American quilting & reviews some of the current artists' use of quilts as their point of reference. Published by The Kentucky Quilt Project, Inc., P.O. Box 6251, Louisville, Kentucky 40206-0251.
A Piece of My Soul
by Cuesta Benberry; Old State House Museum Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: NK 9112 .B457 2000
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Over seventy-five individual pieces of patchwork art are presented in this publication in full-color plates, each with a commentary by the exhibit's guest curator, Cuesta Benberry. The book details the importance of quilting to black Arkansans; the quilts' uses, materials and construction; and what each piece says about the artist and her beliefs.
The Freedom Quilting Bee
by Nancy Callahan
Call Number: NK 9112 .C34 1987
Publication Date: 1987-12-28
The original book on the renowned Freedom quilters of Gee's Bend.
by Mark W. Scala (Editor)
Call Number: NK9112 .C73 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-24
Creation Story explores parallels and intersections in the works of Dial and his fellow Alabamians, the remarkable quilters of Gee's Bend.
Dancing at the Louvre
by Dan Cameron (Contribution by, Editor); New Museum of Contemporary Art Staff; Akron Art Museum Staff; Ann Gibson (Contribution by); Thalia Gouma-Peterson (Contribution by); Patrick Hill (Contribution by); Richard J. Powell (Introduction by); Morra Roth (Contribution by); Michele Wallace (Contribution by)
Call Number: NK 9198 .R56 A4 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
This catalog is the first book-length publication devoted to the exquisite story quilts of contemporary artist Faith Ringgold.