Federal Agencies & CommissionsAdministrative Decisions & RulingsExecutive Orders & ProclamationsPresidential Documents
BillsDebatesHearingsPrintsReports (House & Senate)Public Laws
This is the "Home" page of the "U.S. Government Documents " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

U.S. Government Documents  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/governmentdocuments Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction to Government Information Sources

Introduction to United States Government Information Sources is available electronically through NetLibrary, a subscription E-book database available to Tulane students, faculty and staff. This text is an excellent resource for researchers who want to learn more about the vast array of materials the U.S. government makes available.  

Basic Legal Research

Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law is available electronically through EBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary), a subscription E-book database available to Tulane students, faculty and staff. Information in this text includes:

An overview of legal research
How to locate legal resources
A glossary of legal terms.

     

    Introduction

    A large number of government publications are easily accessible on-line. The goal of this guide is to identify and link to key government document resources available free on the Web and through Tulane University subscription.

    This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

    Provides links to the most commonly used government document databases including: LexisNexis Congressional, HeinOnline, Government Printing Office (GPO), and Thomas.gov.

    Provides links to executive and presidential document resources including the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Public Papers of the Presidents, and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Papers.

     Provides links to documents of the federal courts including Trial and Appellate Courts, Circuit Courts of Appeal, and the Supreme Court of the United States.

     

    Provides links to legislative resources such as bills, hearings, debates, committee prints, House and Senate reports, the Congressional Record, United States Code and Statutes at Large.

    Provides links to resources containing declassified government documents from agencies and department such as the CIA and U.S. State Department and databases such as Digital National Service Archives.

     Provides links to historical government document resources such as the Annals of Congress and American State Papers.

     

    Provides links to official statistical data of important U.S. federal agencies and departments, and key databases including the Statistical Abstracts of the United States and Historical Statistics of the United States.

     

    Learn about FDsys

    GPO launched their Federal Digital System (FDsys)in 2009. This system is a one-stop site to authentic, published government information and is set to replace GPO Access in 2011. Learn more about FDsys in the following GPO video.

     

    Learn About Federal Depository Libraries

    Tulane University is one of several thousand Federal Depository Libraries in the United States. Federal Depository Libraries were established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to government information. Learn more about Federal Depository Libraries in the following GPO video.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip