Library Guides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS): GIS Library Resources

Databases

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 2.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals and other sources. GeoRef provides coverage in subject areas such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.

Cartography and Geographic Information Science
Cartography and Geographic Information Science (CaGIS) is the official publication of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society. The Society supports research, education, and practices that improve the understanding, creation, analysis, and use of maps and geographic informatio
Journal of Spatial Science
The Journal of Spatial Science publishes Professional Papers that describe aspects of professional practice and implementation of techniques related to cartography, geodesy, geographic information science, hydrography, photogrammetry, remote sensing or surveying.
GIScience & Remote Sensing
GIScience & Remote Sensing publishes original, peer-reviewed articles associated with geographic information systems (GIS), remote sensing of the environment, geocomputation, spatial data mining, and geographic environmental modelling.
Transactions in GIS
Peer reviewed coverage of GIS research. GIS (Geographic Information System) is organized activity by which people measure and represent geographic phenomena then transform these representations into other forms while interacting with social structures.