Library Guides: Genealogy and Biographical Resources for physicians and other health professionals (19th Century -20th Century) : A Guide: Louisiana & Local

Local History

The Tulane University Medical Center : one hundred and fifty years of medical education / John Duffy. (1984)
Publication Date: 1984

Louisiana medical resources

The Rudolph Matas history of medicine in Louisiana by John Duffy (editor), Matas, Rudolph, 1860-1957.
The sanitarians : a history of American public health by John Duffy.
Call Number: WZ 43 AA1 D85s 1990 (Matas Library)
Sword of pestilence; the New Orleans yellow fever epidemic 0f 1853. by Duffy, John, 1915
Call Number: WC 532 D858s 1966b
Baton Rouge, Louisiana State University Press, 1966.
History of the Orleans Parish Medical Society 1878-1928, by A. E. Fossier. Illustrated with views of meeting places and portraits of members.
Call Number: WZ 1 Or5f 1930

Louisiana Biography

Dictionary of Louisiana History

Louisiana Digital Archive

Charity Hospital Reports
Tulane Residents are listed in the Charity Hospital Reports

Tulane Resources 1834-

Medical School bulletins, catalogs, and yearbooks are the sources of biographical information for medical physicians, dentists and public health professionals that graduated from Tulane University. These materials are available in print and the Matas Library and also in University Archives. The "annual bulletins" list graduates for that academic year. Additional materials in the Matas Historical Collections are graduation announcements, composites and other publications relating to the academic program. There is a card file of Matriculates based upon the Medical School bulletins with name and year. Generally the searches of the print resources are hand searched by the Matas Library Staff.

University Archives and the Matas Library have ongoing scanning projects. Here are some of the resources available online:

Catalogue of the Alumni from 1834 to 1901, inclusive, of the Medical Department of the Tulane University of Louisiana
Alphabetical List of all Graduates in Medicine and Pharmacy, 1834 to 1901.
Yearbooks
Jambalaya yearbook (1896-2008), as well as issues of the T-Wave, the yearbook of the Tulane University School of Medicine which began publication in 1982. Available in digital format via the Internet Archive.
Register of Matriculants in the Medical College of Louisiana, 1840-1852
Student Ledgers, Graduates, and Alumni Lists

Tulane - Medicine and Medical History

The History of Tulane University School of Medicine’s involvement with Charity Hospital
Douglas R. Lincoln. Rudolph Matas Library, 2007.
more...less...
The History of Tulane University School of Medicine’s involvement with Charity Hospital: [New Orleans, Louisiana ; 1736-August 29th, 2005]
Louisiana Research Collection (LaRC)
Howard-Tilton Special Collections. Includes the papers of Rudolph Matas, M.D. and more 19th Century Louisiana Physicians.
more...less...
Tulane Manuscripts - Medical Heritage of New Orleans :Preserving the medical heritage of New Orleans and Louisiana is a special mission of the Tulane Manuscripts Department. The Tulane Manuscripts Department contains more than thirty collections relating to medicine, including the papers of physicians and the records of hospitals and professional medical societies.
Fossier, A.E. History of medical education in New Orleans, from its birth to the Civil War.
Reprinted from: Annals of Medical History, 6(5):427-447 1935
more...less...
Fossier, A.E. History of medical education in New Orleans, from its birth to the Civil War. New York : Hoeber, [1935?] Original pamphlet. Reprinted from: Annals of Medical History, 6(5):427-447 1935.
Catalogue of the Alumni, 1834 to 1901 Inclusive, of the Medical Department of the Tulane University of Louisiana.
Historical Summary. (In PDF Format)
more...less...
Alphabetical List of all Graduates in Medicine and Pharmacy, 1834 to 1901. (In PDF Format)
Alphabetical List of all Graduates in Medicine and Pharmacy, 1834 to 1901.
(In PDF Format)
POTPOURRI: An Assortment of Tulane's People and Places
researched, edited, and compiled by BEATRICE M. FIELD assisted by Mary S. Ingraham (August 1983)... additional research, edits and compilation of material by AMANDA R. RITTENHOUSE (August 2002)
Rudolph Matas history of the Louisiana State Medical Society / edited by Mary Louise Marshall.
WZ 1 L931m 1957 (v.1-v2) - In Print

Rudolph Matas

Rudolph Matas: a biography of one of the great pioneers in surgery by Isidore Cohn with Hermann B. Deutsch.
Call Number: WZ 100 M41c 1960 (Matas Library)
Garden City, N.Y., Doubleday, 1960.
The complex life of Rudolph Matas by John Ochsner MD
Journal of Vascular Surgery, Volume 34, Issue 3, September 2001, Pages 387-392
Bibliography of Rudolph Matas, MD
compiled by staff members of the Rudolph Matas Library (PDF, 56MB)

Historic New Orleans Newspapers

New Orleans Bee / L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans
The New Orleans Public Library has digitized issues from this French-language New Orleans newspaper (1823-1925), which also published editions in English and Spanish published for certain years.

Civil War Era: Newspapers and Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Civil War Era contains the earliest editions of the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1840 to 1865.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century American Newspapers collection contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1861-1899.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Choose "Louisiana" in Places of Publication to see local titles. Search or browse images and full-text content of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. This combines Series I-VII of Early American Historica

Other Historic Newspaper Databases - Tulane's Research Guide

Background on Louisiana Medical Schools

Tulane University School of Medicine was founded in 1834 as the Medical College of Louisiana, in 1847 the Medical College of Louisiana became the Department of Medicine of the University of Louisiana. it has been called Tulane University since 1884.

Medical College of New Orleans was granted a charter in 1835, however it failed to materialize.

New Orleans School of Medicine was founded in 1856 and closed in 1870.

Charity Hospital Medical College was organized in 1873 and extinct since 1877.

New Orleans University in 1889 opened a medical department for blacks, in 1901 it was renamed the Flint Medical College. The College closed in 1911.

Medical Department of Straight University, also for blacks, was listed in The Medical and Surgical Directory of the United States, R. L. Polk, & Co, 1886. There was not any history of the University listed

Shreveport Charity Hospital (1876), the hospital was renamed Confederate Memorial Medical Center (CMMC).

Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans was established in 1931.

Louisiana State University School of Medicine in Shreveport (1965) was established and became affiliated with the CMMC. CMMC was renamed Louisiana State University Medical Center Hospital and in 1999, the entire complex was renamed Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center.

Registre

Registre du Comité médical de la N’ell. Orléans, 1816-1854
For additional information consult:
Duffy, John. (1958) The Regulation of Medicine and Pharmacy in Louisiana, In The Rudolph Matas History of Medicine in Louisiana, Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, v.II., p. 103-121.

Names of people licensed in New Orleans

April 29, 1816 - August 14,1854

For additional information consult: Duffy, John. (1958) The Regulation of Medicine and Pharmacy in Louisiana, In The Rudolph Matas History of Medicine in Louisiana, Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, v.II., p. 103-121.

Name Index from the Manuscript of the Registre
(images are best viewed with a monitor resolution of 1024 x 768 pixels or higher)

Physicians and surgeons of Louisiana, registered in 1885

Physicians and surgeons of Louisiana, registered by the secretary of the Board of Health ... (1885)
Published:Baton Rouge, 1885. (PDF Version) Print is in historical collection: Louisiana. State Board of Health. Selected publications, 1855-1925.

Medical Directory of Louisiana (1894)

Part 1, p.493-521 (St.Landry Parish)
Introduction. Includes names registered as practigin without a diploma refer to practitioners who have been licensed in accordance with the Act of 1882. Parishes Acadia-St.Landry.
Part 2, p.522-537
St. Martin - Winn, p.529 Permanent Members of the Louisiana State Medical Society. Abshire, J. T - Youn, F.F.

Includes Parish of residence, time joining, College of Graduation and date of graduation.

Transactions of the Louisiana State Medical Society, v.15 (1894)

AppendixG (p494-537)