This is the "Home" page of the "Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Research Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/ecology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting full text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text attached, click on TU Link, which will search the Library catalog to see if we have access to the full text either electronically or in print (paper) form.

      

    Peer-reviewed?

    Many databases allow you to check off a 'Peer-reviewed' or 'Scholarly Journals' button on either the left or right-hand column of the search results screen. Checking this button will help limit your search to Journals which are considered Peer-reviewed. However, editorials, opinions, commentaries, and book reviews will still appear despite the fact they are not considered peer-reviewed articles. 

    Important: If you are still unsure if your journal is peer-reviewed, use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to confirm for sure!

    • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
      Database of all of the journals, trade publications, and magazines available. Look for the Referee Jacket to determine if your journal is 'peer-reviewed'

    Borrowing from other Libraries

    Is there an article, book, book chapter or thesis that you want/need but it is not available through a Tulane Library? Don't let that get in the way of your research! Check out some of our easy-to-use and FREE services available to help connect you with the materials you need to succeed.

    • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
      If the libraries at Tulane do not have the article or book that you need, request an Interlibrary loan. The Howard-Tilton Memorial Library will then find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us or you directly.
    • TU/LU Card
      Undergraduate Tulane students are able to borrow and physically access the Library collection at Loyola's Monroe Library, right next door to Tulane.
    • LALINC Card
      Faculty and graduate students are able to get a LALINC card which allows them to borrow books from other Louisiana University Libraries and Colleges, including Loyola University.
    • OCLC Reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program
      A program offered to faculty which provides borrowing privileges and on-site access to the collections of participating academic research libraries.
    • WorldCat
      A catalog of Library catalogs! Search WorldCat to see which Libraries worldwide has the item you need.
    • Suggest a Purchase
      Is there a book or Journal that you believe the Library should purchase? Submit a suggest a purchase request!

    Ecology Databases


    Identify research articles, technical reports, book chapters, and other materials on your topic. Most databases provide only citations & abstracts. To locate full-text articles, click the TU Link button next to individual citations.

    • Agricola
      An agricultural sciences database that contains records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Over 2,000 journals and publication series are indexed from 1979 to the present
    • Animal Behavior Abstracts
      Covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
    • Biological Abstracts
      Database covering the life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. Coverage from 1969-present.
    • Biological Sciences
      Interdisciplinary database of citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Coverage from 1982-present.
    • Birds of North America
      From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and American Ornithologists' Union, contains detailed description of over 700 North American birds.
    • Ecology Abstracts
      Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms.
    • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
      Covers the environmental sciences, from Agricultural Biotechnology and Air Pollution, to Waste Management and Water Resource Issues. For more focused searching, select one or more of the 13 subfiles. Coverage from 1967-present
    • Flora of North America
      Flora of North America : north of Mexico. Flora of North America Editorial Committee
    • GreenFILE
      This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
    • Plant Science
      Citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all aspects, especially pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Coverage from 1994-present.
    • The Biodiversity Heritage Library
      BHL is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
    • Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
      An index to over 8000 highly ranked scientific journals. Perform a traditional search for articles, or conduct a 'cited reference search' to find how many times an article has been cited since being published. Coverage from 1976-present.
    • Zoological Record
      The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology: determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species; Track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes; Keep up with all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
    • Zootaxa
      "A rapid international journal for animal taxonomists."

    Research & Instruction Librarian, Sciences

    Profile Image
    Raquel Horlick
    Contact Info
    504-865-5643
    rhorlick@tulane.edu

    1st Floor
    Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
    Send Email

    Chief Bibliographer for Science & Engineering

    Profile Image
    Tony Bremholm
    Contact Info
    Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
    7001 Freret Street
    Tulane University
    New Orleans, LA 70118
    504-865-5609
    Send Email
     

    Find E-Journal

    Journal:
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip