CDC Preparedness!
WebWISER
- WebWISER - Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
Version 4.4 of the Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders (WISER), a free system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents
New Report: Dec. 2010
- Ready or Not 2010: Protecting the Public's Health from Disease, Disasters, and Bioterrorism
New Report from Trust for America's Health.
Relief Central (Unbound Medicine)

- Relief CentralRelief Central is a free mobile and web resource from Unbound Medicine to assist relief workers and first responders.
Water Supply and Sanitation
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management1967 – current. Environmental biotechnology, engineering, pollution. (Some full-text)
- Water Resources Abstracts- Characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
1967 – current - Some full-text - Aqualine- All aspects of water resources.
1960 – current - Some full-text - ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts 1971-Current - Aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, oceanography
- The Health and Environment Lexicon (THE Lexicon). - WHO An on-line searchable database containing glossary information with multi-language terminology equivalence.
- Water Law and Standards! - FAO & WHO A joint project of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO).
Specialty Databases Toxicology
- ACS Journals (full text search)
American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences - ATSDR Toxic Substances Portal
Access the most important information about toxic substances and how they affect health from CDC. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry. - GIDEON Toxicology
GIDEON Toxicology includes over 200 occupational diseases and 2,000 agents. - Haz-Map
Nn occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. - Health Consequences of Smoking Database
Searchable bibliography that includes abstracts of more than 1,600 key articles cited in the 2004 Surgeon General's Report: The Health Consequences of Smoking. - Household Products database
Information from a variety of publicly available sources including brand-specific labels and Material Safety Data Sheets when available from manufacturers and manufacturers' web sites. - International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
EBSCOhost: Covers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. - ProQuest - Science & Technology databases.
Search multiple databases in ProQuest. - ProQuest - Biotechnology Research Abstracts
ProQuest. International research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. - ProQuest - Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts
Covers: Biology of bones and teeth, ubiquitous role of ionic calcium. - RTECS
A compendium of data extracted from the open scientific literature. - TOXNET -
NLM - Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
News
- Disaster News Network (DNN)A news service that tells the story of disaster response and suggests appropriate ways the public can help survivors. It also facilitates information sharing among disaster responders.
- CBS NEWS DISASTER LINKS
World Disasters Report
Matas Mobile Links
- First Responders
Quick Links for your phone or tablet - Key Point of Care Resources
Matas Mobile View for Tulane users
DIMRC
- Disaster Information Management Resource CenterDisaster types & topics, disaster literature
REMM (Radiation Emergency Medical Mangement
Databases for Disaster Management
Public health and natural disasters: disaster preparedness and response in health systems by Tekeli-Yeşil, Sidika. Journal of Public Health Vol. 14 Issue 5 (SpringerImages)
Main components of an effective response to natural disasters
- Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)Free civil engineering database providing access to over 170,000 bibliographic records of all American Society of Civil Engineers publications
- Emerald Journals (Emerald)
A business research tool that provides full text which spans a spectrum of management research. - Engineering Village / Compendex
A collection of resources in in the applied science and engineering fields. - GEOBASE
OCLC. Covers: bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. - Health and Safety Science Abstracts
ProQuest. Covers: Health, safety & industrial hygiene - International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
EBSCOhost: Covers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. - Sustainability Science Abstracts
ProQuest. Covers: Human population dynamics, control, and effect on natural resource management. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
ProQuest. Covers: Political Science, Government and Public Policy, Politics, international relations - Risk Abstracts
ProQuest. Covers: Engineering, Technological risks, biological risks, natural hazards
Clinical and Health Research Databases
- Cochrane Library
Evidence based medicine, full-text systematic reviews and meta-analysis from the Cochrane Collaboration. - EMBASE
EMBASE.com is an abstract and indexing database specialized in the biomedical field, and excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research, with power searching tools enabling researchers to retrieve essential information. - Login to Multiple Ovid Databases
Global Health, Health Star, Full text journals and MEDLINE. - Medline (Ovid Version)
MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories. - Medline (PubMed)
An additional recommended search interface for MEDLINE.
Search the Clinical Queries to quickly find systematic
reviews, etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Icons link to Tulane subscriptions.
RightAnswer.com, Inc.
ChemKnowledge® -- RegsKnowledge™ products -- RightAnswer.com, Inc. - You will be required to register/sign-in using your Tulane academic email address. Your Tulane email address will be your log-in.
- RightAnswer.com, Inc (Academic Access)
Tulane users will need to register. Tulane network access is required. This product was called: Corporate Solutions. - Right Answer Knowledge Solutions OnHand
MOBILE Version
Geography & Geology
- United States Geological SurveyInformation on natural hazards.
- National Hurricane CenterPart of the National Weather Service.
- United States National Grid
- FEMA - Geospatial InformationGeographical Information Systems (GIS)
Extreme Weather
- Guidance on Water Supply and Sanitation in Extreme Weather Events
WHO. Effect of extreme weather events such as floods and droughts upon water and sanitation. - CDC Winter Weather

- CDC Extreme Weather - Natural Disasters

Making Cities Resilient
- Making Cities Resilient: "My city is getting ready"
The 2010-2011 World Disaster Reduction Campaign “Making Cities Resilient” addresses issues of local governance and urban risk while drawing upon previous ISDR Campaigns on safer schools and hospitals, as well as on the sustainable urbanizations principles developed in the UN-Habitat World Urban Campaign 2009-2013. - ICLEI Resilience Resource Point on "Cities and Adaptation"
A gateway to access reference materials including websites, databases, and networking platforms; as well as the latest books, institutional reports and bulletins. - Websites

- Publications

- International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UN)
UNISDR serves as the focal point for the implementation a ten year plan of action adopted in 2005 by 168 governments to protect lives and livelihoods against disas
Nuclear
- Nuclear Preparedness: Open Access issue
The journal Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness has published an open-access supplement on nuclear preparedness: - Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM) tool
Nuclear Detonation Scarce Resources Project Working Group can be accessed through the Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM) tool.
Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management

- Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM)
Tools for responders of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals -National Library of Medicine.
FEMA- Learning Resources
- National Emergency Training Center. Card CatalogThis catalog is a major resource for identifying literature dealing with crisis management and natural hazards. It includes articles as well as books.
- Use of Social Media Tools at FEMA
- YouTube FEMA Channel
Disaster Psychiatry (APA)
- Disaster Psychiatry. American Psychiatric AssociationDisaster Psychiatry has an important role in emergency prevention, response and recovery. In times of disasters, the APA works to coordinate and disseminate valuable and timely disaster psychiatry materials to those in the field and to facilitate the flow of information into and out of our organization.
SAMSA - Disaster Kit
- **(SAMHSA) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Disaster Kit**This free kit arms disaster recovery workers with mental health tools. Available for download or in print, it includes materials for responding effectively to the general public during and after a disaster and in dealing with workplace stress.
Specialty Databases for Psychiatric Research Topics
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. - Lexis-Nexis Academic
Search the news (1980 - present), look up a legal case, get company info, research people - Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. - PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) (ProQuest)
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and offers both current and retrospective coverage. - PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present. - PsychiatryOnline
A website that features DSM-IV-TR® and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Includes topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. - PsycINFO (EBSCO)
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Sociology and Social Welfare
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
EBSCOhost. Coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. - ProQuestTopical searching by groups of databases is avialable.
- Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. - Sociological Abstracts
CSA. Contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for journal articles and dissertations in all branches of the field of Sociology.
Statistics
- OECD Statistics PortalStatistics and economic and social data of OECD Nations.
- World Development IndicatorsWorld Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)Provides statistical data from the Human Development Report (HDR)









Loading...
