Patent Searching for Scientists: A Guide: Patent Resources
Resources to locate patents and trademarks, databases with patent information, overview and background of the patent process.
Patents & Trademarks
Searchable databases of some of the world's major patent and trademark offices. Tulane Libraries do not collect print copies of patents, but the full-text of many patents are freely available electronically.
Provides free access to U.S. patents full-text since 1976 and full-page images since 1790.
The display of each patent's full-text includes a link to obtain full-page images of each page of the patent. Information from Certificates of Correction and Reexaminations is not included in the full-text database per se, but can be found as pages attached to the full-page images of the original patent. Patents from 1790 to December 1975 offer only the patent number and the current US patent classification in the text display, and can be searched only by those fields. However, this limited text display also includes a hyperlink to obtain full-page images of each page of the patent.
The Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO), a Special Operating Agency (SOA) associated with Industry Canada, is responsible for the administration and processing of the greater part of intellectual property in Canada. CIPO's areas of activity include: •Patents cover new inventions (process, machine, manufacture, composition of matter), or any new and useful improvement of an existing invention; •Trade-marks are words, symbols or designs (or a combination of these), used t
EP Patents comprises millions of patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. This database can be cross-searched with other databases on Compendex/Engineering Village, retrieving results both from patents and scientific literature.
Use the SciFinder Scholar search features, including the option to search by chemical structure or formula, to search for chemistry-related patents. Software provides links to full-text when available free. Web version requires registration with a tulane.edu email account. NOTE: Our license for SciFinder Scholar limits the number of simultaneous users. If you have difficulty accessing the database, try again at an off-peak time such as early in the morning or during the evening.
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Searching for Patents in Engineering Village
Cross-search on Engineering Village, retrieving results both from patents and scientific literature. Refine your results by using Patent as a document type.
An interdisciplinary engineering database with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Also known as Engineering Village.
