This is the "Home" page of the "Historic Preservation Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Historic Preservation Research Guide   Tags: architecture, conservation, historic_preservation, urban_planning  

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/historic_preservation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalog


Find Books



 

Find E-Journal

Journal:
 

Historic Preservation Resources

Welcome to the Historic Preservation Research Guide!

This site is intended to help researchers find the resources they need by providing links to article and image databases, library resources, Internet portals and other reference tools.  It augments the Architecture Research Guide and  Architecture Research Blog begun by Dr. Keli Rylance at the Tulane Libraries. While this page provides quick links to resources, the blog includes narrative examples of the ways in which these resources may be used to solve research problems.  Additionally, it includes citation models for images and text, as well as listings of current events and thematic issues.

All images provided courtesy of the Southeastern Architectural Archive, Special Collections Division, Tulane University Libraries, unless otherwise indicated.

 

The Research Process

These are some helpful guides to conducting research related to history, architectural history, construction and visual design: 

Borden, Iain.  The Dissertation: An Architecture Student's Handbook.  Amsterdam & Boston: Architectural Press, 2006.  ARCH Reference NA2108.B67 2006

Cronon, William.  "Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer." Department of Geography, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Fall 2008). Online at: http://www.williamcronon.net/researching/website.htm

Fellows, Richard. Research Methods for Construction.  Oxford: Blackwell Science, 1997. Available to Tulane affiliates as an e-book via EBSCO.  Consult Tulane University Libraries' online catalog for link.

Groat, Linda N. Architectural Research Methods.  New York:  Wiley, 2002.  ARCH NA2000.G76 2002

Sanoff, Henry.  Visual Research Methods in Design.  New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.  ARCH NA2750.S25 1991

 

NEW SEAA EXHIBIT

Bungalows

Through 20 May 2015

 

The Southeastern Architectural Archive’s Bungalows exhibit is the first such to focus on Gulf Coast  vernacular bungalow and cottage architecture.  Issues of stylistic and typological adaptation, sustainability and climate-specific design are highlighted with the use of original architectural drawings, historic photographs, building trade catalogs, material samples and subdivision surveys. The focus of the exhibit is on regional innovation and adaptation.

 

Image above: The Decoration of Our Homes. National Lead Company. 1924. Architectural Trade Catalogs, Southeastern Architectural Archive, Special Collections Division, Tulane University Libraries.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Keli Rylance
Contact Info
300 Jones Hall
6801 Freret Street
Send Email

NOMO

An online exhibit curated by Tulane University graduate Lindsay McCook that highlights New Orleans MOdernism (NOMO) with the use of primary documents housed in the Southeastern Architectural Archive.

Modernism in New Orleans

      
     

    Bungalow Brochures

    Documents developed in conjunction with the Southeastern Architectural Archive's Bungalows exhibit.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip