This is the "Disaster
management" page of the "Disaster Management and Emergency Response " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Matas Subject Guides Home Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences Library Tulane University Homepage

The collaborative and organized efforts to cope with disasters by medical, public health, law enforcement, defense, public administration, and communication sectors of society.
Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/disasters Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Disaster management Print Page
  Search: 
 

CDC Preparedness!

FEMA- Learning Resources

FEMA Learning Resources

Relief Central (Unbound Medicine)

  • Relief Central
    Relief Central is a free mobile and web resource from Unbound Medicine to assist relief workers and first responders. World Factbook, CDC Yellow Book (vaccines and infectious disease for international travel), Army Field Operations Guide. For Web, iOS and Android.

Water Supply and Sanitation

Specialty Databases Toxicology

  • ACS Journals (full text search)  Icon
    American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences
  • ATSDR Toxic Substances Portal  Icon
    Access the most important information about toxic substances and how they affect health from CDC. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.
  • GIDEON Toxicology  Icon
    GIDEON Toxicology includes over 200 occupational diseases and 2,000 agents.
  • Haz-Map  
      
      Icon
    Nn occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work.
  • Health Consequences of Smoking Database  
      
      Icon
    Searchable bibliography that includes abstracts of more than 1,600 key articles cited in the 2004 Surgeon General's Report: The Health Consequences of Smoking.
  • Household Products database  
      
      Icon
    Information from a variety of publicly available sources including brand-specific labels and Material Safety Data Sheets when available from manufacturers and manufacturers' web sites.
  • International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center  Icon
    EBSCOhost: Covers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as to enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues.
  • ProQuest - Science & Technology databases.  Icon
    Search multiple databases in ProQuest.
  • ProQuest - Biotechnology Research Abstracts  Icon
    ProQuest. International research on all aspects of biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science.
  • ProQuest - Calcium & Calcified Tissue Abstracts  Icon
    Covers: Biology of bones and teeth, ubiquitous role of ionic calcium.
  • RTECS  
      
      Icon
    A compendium of data extracted from the open scientific literature.
  • TOXNET -  Icon
    NLM - Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

News

World Disasters Report

U.S. Army Public Health Command

  • U.S. Army Public Health Command
    The five Public Health Command Regions execute public health missions. They are supported by 14 Public Health Command Districts that will bring public health services even closer to the Army installations and deployed units who are their customers. USAPHC personnel are assigned in 14 time zones and in approximately 400 locations around the globe. Their professions include almost 70 scientific and technical disciplines, which are brought to bear on public health issues and problems in matrixed teams.

Matas Mobile Links

DIMRC

DIMRC image

Databases for Disaster Management

Main components of an effective response to natural disasters

Public health and natural disasters: disaster preparedness and response in health systems by  Tekeli-Yeşil, Sidika.  Journal of Public Health  Vol.  14  Issue  5 (SpringerImages)

Main components of an effective response to natural disasters

Clinical and Health Research Databases

  • Cochrane Library  Icon
    Evidence based medicine, full-text systematic reviews and meta-analysis from the Cochrane Collaboration.
  • EMBASE  Icon
    EMBASE.com is an abstract and indexing database specialized in the biomedical field, and excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research, with power searching tools enabling researchers to retrieve essential information.
  • Login to Multiple Ovid Databases  Icon
    Global Health, Health Star, Full text journals and MEDLINE.
  • Medline (Ovid Version)  
      
      Icon
    Searches MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories.
  • Medline (PubMed)  
      
      Icon
    An additional recommended search interface for MEDLINE.
    Search the Clinical Queries to quickly find systematic
    reviews, etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Icons link to Tulane subscriptions.

RightAnswer.com, Inc.

RightAnswer.com logom.rightanswerknowledge.com

ChemKnowledge® -- RegsKnowledge™ products -- RightAnswer.com, Inc. - You will be required to register/sign-in using your Tulane academic email address.  Your Tulane email address will be your log-in.

Geography & Geology

Extreme Weather

Making Cities Resilient

Nuclear

NLM Hazards Management - CHEMM, REMM & WISER

CHEMM logo

WebWISER

WebWISER logo

Disaster Psychiatry (APA)

  • Disaster Psychiatry. American Psychiatric Association
    Disaster Psychiatry has an important role in emergency prevention, response and recovery. In times of disasters, the APA works to coordinate and disseminate valuable and timely disaster psychiatry materials to those in the field and to facilitate the flow of information into and out of our organization.

SAMSA - Disaster Kit

Specialty Databases for Psychiatric Research Topics

Sociology and Social Welfare

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    EBSCOhost. Coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
  • ProQuest Databases  Icon
    Topical searching by groups of databases is available. Use search forms customized for each subject.
  • Social Services Abstracts  Icon
    Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
    ProQuest. Contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for journal articles and dissertations in all branches of the field of Sociology.

Statistics

  • OECD Data Lab
    Statistics and economic and social data of OECD Nations.
  • World Development Indicators
    World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.
  • United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
    Provides statistical data from the Human Development Report (HDR)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip