This is the "EndNote" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

EndNote  

EndNote allows you to create your own personal library of references to books, articles and documents. References can include citation information. EndNote automatically adds references to your paper and format your bibliography in the proper style.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

EndNote Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EndNote

 

Step-by-step Instructions for Tulane Students

EndNote Web

EndNote Web - A link for Tulane users

A citation management tool integrated into Web of Science. EndNote Web allows you to import records from other databases too. If you have EndNote Desktop, you can sync it with EndNote Web. 

 

Ask Us!


 

EndNote

What is EndNote?

The EndNote citation management software allows you to create your own personal library of references to books, articles and documents. References can include citation information (author, title, publisher, etc.) as well as annotations and graphics. EndNote then works with Microsoft Word and other word processors to automatically add references to your paper and format your bibliography in the proper style (MLA, APA, Chicago Style, etc.).

How do I get EndNote?

The university does not have a site license for EndNote. Copies are available directly from EndNote as well as through some software retailers. You can also download a free trial version of EndNote, which is good for 30 days.

The library does offer a campus-wide subscription to the RefWorks service, which offers functionality similar to EndNote.

How can I get training on EndNote?

EndNote support.    EndNote offers online tutorials as well as regularly scheduled webinar classes - http://www.endnote.com/training/ 


How can I use EndNote to search the Tulane library catalog?

You can search the library’s catalog using an EndNote connection file, so that references do not need to be retyped but can be directly imported into an EndNote library. To do this, you need to use the connection file titled "Tulane University". This file is now included when you install the EndNote software (along with connection files for many other libraries' catalogs).

If you are using an earlier version of EndNote and the file is not included with your install, it can be downloaded from the EndNote Web site. Save this file into the "Connections" folder within the EndNote folder on your computer.

Connection files will also work for searching free databases such as PubMed. These connection files should be included with your copy of EndNote.

How can I use EndNote to search Tulane's library databases?

Most of the library's paid database subscriptions cannot be searched directly using the EndNote connection files, because the connection files require that the database utilize a login and password to authenticate users. Because most databases now authenticate based on IP address recognition rather than a password, they cannot be searched directly using EndNote.

However, you can get records into an EndNote library by importing them:

  • Search the database and save the records; use the proper EndNote filter to import the records into the EndNote library.
  • Some databases now feature a "Direct Export" feature that allows you to skip several steps in the importing process

 For assistance with importing records or Direct Export, please contact us.

 

Workshop Schedule

Arrange a 1-on-1 consultation or small group session to learn EndNote.  We can cover anything from the basics to advanced functionality, depending on your need.

To schedule a meeting, contact the appropriate librarian:

Contacts:

Howard-Tilton Library (Uptown):
  Center for Library User Education

Matas Health Sciences Library (Downtown):
  Keith Pickett

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip