This is the "Overview" page of the "POLS 6950: Law and Politics of Domestic Violence" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Nadine Vorhoff Library Newcomb College Institute of Tulane University

POLS 6950: Law and Politics of Domestic Violence   Tags: assault, battery, child abuse, domestic violence, victims of family violence, wife and abuse, wife and beat?  

Course Guide for POLS 6950.
Last Updated: Nov 28, 2012 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/pols6950 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian's Profile

Profile Image
Bea Calvert
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Nadine Vorhoff Library
100 Caroline Richardson Bldg
504-314-2723
Send Email
What I do in the library::
I help students find accurate and appropriate resources for their research.
 
 

About This Guide

POLS 6950:This guide will assist you in the course, Law and Politics of Domestic Violence, taught by Professors Fred Buttell, Sally J. Kenney, and Tania Tetlow in the Spring 2012. This course examines theories of what causes domestic violence and certain intervention strategies for assessing and eliminating such violence in families.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • MedlinePlus: Domestic Violence
  • WHO Multi-Country Study on Women's Health and Domestic Violence Against Women
    "The first-ever World Health Organization (WHO) study on domestic violence reveals that intimate partner violence is the most common form of violence in women's lives -- much more so than assault or rape by strangers or acquaintances."
  • WomensLaw.org
    "State-by-state legal information and resources for domestic violence." Features general information on domestic violence as well as specific information for teens, immigrants, military families, and other populations.

Google Books and Other Sources

Google's is not the only wholesale digitization effort going on. Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance (OCA; http://www.opencontentalliance.org/) The OCA intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection. OCA books will in the future be accessible directly through the OCA website and indexed through Yahoo, but are best browed or searched at present through the "texts" section of the Internet Archive site at http://www.archive.org/details/texts.

There are also projects that attempt to index available e-books. The Digital Book Index (DBI) at http://www.digitalbookindex.org/ has kept up reasonably well with existing projects, and the Online Books Page (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/) links to 25,000 free e-books, but these figures will be dwarfed by the Google and OCA projects.

  • The Celebration of Women Writers
    The Celebration of Women Writers is a project developed in collaboration with the Online Books Page. Women writers' books digitized under the auspices of the project or linked to from the project are also indexed in the Online Books Page. In addition, Celebration of Women Writers links to biographical and bibliographical information about women writers.
  • Open Content Alliance
    Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance, which intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection.
  • Internet Archive
    OCA books are best browed or searched through the "texts" section of the Internet Archives.
  • Digital Book Index
    The Digital Book Index has kept up reasonably well with existing projects - as of this writing it has indexed 130,000 books, of which 90,000 are freely accessible.
  • Online Books Page
    The Online Books Page links to over 1 million free e-books and is updated frequently.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip